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ATTACHMENT AA
SOLICITATION: CIC-MED-18-001
ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION
MEDIATOR PANEL

November 22, 2017

Marina Benn

State of Nevada

Department of Business and Industry

Real Estate Division

Office of the Ombudsman

For Common-Interest Communities and Condominium Hotels
Phone Contact: 702-486-4482

Fax Delivery: 702-486-4520 or Email Delivery: mbenn@red.nv.gov

Subject: Mediation Services

The State of Nevada, Real Estate Division is seeking proposals from qualified vendors for mediator
services for the Alternative Dispute Resolution program and statewide on an as needed basis. The State
does not guarantee any minimum volume of services. It is the State's intent to enter into contracts with
qualified mediators, acting as independent contractors, who have experience in meeting the various
needs of agencies. These needs will vary but may include, at a minimum, scope of work:

1. Must be a Certified Mediator (current within recertification requirements).

Must have a minimum of two (2) years’ experience with mediating disputes between parties in a
professional capacity.

3. Must have training and experience with resolution of disputes concerning Associations,
including, and without limitation, the interpretation, application and enforcement of covenants;
conditions and restrictions pertaining to residential property and the articles of incorporation;
bylaws; rules and regulations of an association.

4. During the term of the contract, and within each fiscal year of July 1 through June 30, be
available to attend up to (4) hours of instruction if requested by the Division without
compensation from the State.
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10.
11.
12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

Notify the Division in writing of any scheduled or non-scheduled absences, vacations, or time

periods the Mediator will not be available for assignment to a hearing.

Agree to update Mediator’s curriculum vitae or resume when necessary for posting on the

Division’s website.

Must not have any pending litigation against the State of Nevada within the last five (5) years.

Conduct Mediations, and draft legal agreements based upon the outcome of the Mediation,

addressing issues regarding:

a) The interpretation, application or enforcement of any covenants, conditions or restrictions
applicable to residential property, and/or any bylaws, rules or regulations adopted by an
Association.

b) The procedures used for increasing, decreasing or imposing additional assessments upon
residential property in a Home Owner Association (HOA).

Agree to notify the Division within three (3) business days after a claim is assigned if a conflict

of interest exists with any party.

Must be available within the geographic location of the parties to the assigned claim.

Secure locations for mediations that are accessible and amenable to all parties involved.

Not later than 5 days after selection or appointment, Mediator shall make contact with the parties

for the purposes of setting a date for the mediation and to notify them that they must provide to

the mediator a written statement which sets forth the issues in dispute no later than 5 days before
the mediation.

Review all supporting documents provided by the parties, schedule and conduct mediations in a

manner that adheres to all statutes and policies mandated by NRS 38.

Conduct mediations that must not exceed 3 hours, unless the parties agree to an extension of

such time.

Use their best efforts to complete assigned mediations within 60 days from the date of filing of

the claim, as per NRS 38.330(1).

Within 30 days of completion of a mediation (successful or unsuccessful), provide to the

Division a summary of the mediation, including whether or not the parties resolved their dispute.

Charge a fee not to exceed $500.00 for 3 hours of mediation. If the parties agree to extend

mediation beyond 3 hours, the fee for additional hours must not exceed $200.00 per hour. The

cost of the mediation shall be shared equally by both sides, unless a subsidy is provided for one
or both sides.

If the Mediator receives notice from the Division that any portion of the mediation is subsidized,

submit, upon completion of mediation, a cost schedule detailing the hourly rate, costs and

expenses of the proceedings. The amount of the subsidy shall not exceed $500.00 per mediation
or $250.00 per party, whichever is less, or any amount authorized by law.

Obtain any and all other costs and expenses not covered by the amount subsidized directly from

the parties.
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These contracts will be administered by the State of Nevada, Real Estate Division and are anticipated to
commence February 01, 2018, upon Board of Examiners’ (or Clerk of the Board) approval for an initial
two (2) year period.

Your response should address, at a minimum, the following:

>

YV Vv VY ¥V V VY

>
>
>
>
>
>
>

The geographic regions you will provide service, i.e., statewide, rural, northern Nevada,
southern Nevada

A complete and notarized Mediator application

A copy of your Mediator Certificate

Nevada bar license number (if applicable)

A current curriculum vitae or resume outlining education and experience
Signed Attestations A and B

A copy of your Certificate of Insurance (must provide the certificate of insurance identifying the
coverages as specified in contract)

A copy of an applicable city or county business license
Contact person, and telephone number for service inquiries
Provide a minimum of three references

Company ownership and length of time in business

Signed Cost Proposal

Signed Mediation Policies and Procedures

Signed and notarized Affidavit of Rejection of Industrial Insurance Coverage (if applicable)

Attached to this request you will find the State’s standard Contract for Services of Independent
Contractor form for your review.

Questions regarding this solicitation should be sent to Marina Benn, in writing, no later than

December 01, 2017. Questions may be sent by fax to 702-486-4520 or e-mail to mbenn@red.nv.gov.
Responses will be provided in writing on or about December 08, 2017, to all vendors who submit
questions.
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Please provide your written proposal no later than December 22, 2017, at 5:00 pm, PST. Your proposal
must be addressed to Marina Benn. Solicitation number CIC-MED-18-001 must be noted on the
outside of your envelope.

Should you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me at 702-486-4482.

Sincerely,
Wm'vﬂ gm

Marina Benn

CIC Supervisor

State of Nevada

Department of Business and Industry

Real Estate Division

Office of the Ombudsman

For Common-Interest Communities and Condominium Hotels
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SAMPLE STATE CONTRACT FORM

The following State Contract Form is provided as a courtesy to vendors interested in responding to this
solicitation. Please review the terms and conditions in this form, as this is the standard contract used by
the State for all services of independent contractors. It is not necessary for vendors to complete the
Contract Form with their response.

If exceptions and/or assumptions require a change to the Contract Form, vendors must provide the
specific language that is being proposed.

Short Form Contract.docx

If you are unable to access the above inserted file
once you have doubled clicked on the icon,
please contact Nevada State Purchasing at
srypurch@admin.nv.gov for an emailed copy.
This sample copy is provided for your reference.
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IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties hereto have caused this Contract to be signed and intend to be legally bound thereby.

Independent Contractor's Signature Date Independent's Contractor's Title
Signature- State of Nevada Date Title
RMIns rev 03/08
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STATE OF NEVADA
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY - REAL ESTATE DIVISION

OFFICE OF THE OMBUDSMAN FOR COMMON-INTEREST COMMUNITIES AND CONDOMINIUM HOTELS
3300 W Sahara Ave, Ste. 325 * Las Vegas, NV 89104-4137
(702) 486-4480 * Toll free: (877) 829-9907 * Fax: (702) 486-4520
E-mail: CICOmbudsman@red.nv.gov http://www.red.nv.gov

ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION
MEDIATOR APPLICATION FORM
(Please Print or Type)

Name:
Address:
City: State: Zip:

Email address:

Phone number: Cell: Fax:

NEVADA BAR ID# Current Member Status:

If applicable Must be in good standing

Company Information:

Name:

Ownership: [ Sole Proprietor O Partnership [ Other:
Address:
City: State: Zip:

Phone number: Fax: Email:

Qualifications:

List Mediation formal training/certifications. Include copies of any Certified Mediator certificates with the application.

Course/Training Titles:

Date(s): Number of Hours:
Provider Name/Address:

Completion Validation:

(Attach additional training if applicable)

Profession:

Professional Certificates / Designations:

Please list foreign languages, or sign language, in which you have sufficient fluency to serve as a neutral:

Please describe any experience with the mediation of homeowner association disputes. If no experience, please enter N/A:

Geographic area | am able to conduct mediation services:

] Reno/Carson/Tahoe Area (] Central Nevada
[] Northeastern Nevada (] Greater Las Vegas Area
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Name of Mediation/Arbitration organization or service (If not applicable, please enter N/A):

Address:
City: State: Zip:
Phone: Member Since:

Fee and Expenses:

Should I be appointed to the ADR Mediation panel, I acknowledge that as per NRS 38.330(1), all
mediations are to be conducted at the maximum rate of $500 for no more than (3) hours. Any
additional mediation time must be agreed upon by all parties involved, and the rate for this
additional time is to be no more than $200.00 per hour.

I acknowledge that Mediation proceedings may be subsidized by the Division per NAC 116.520
in an amount not to exceed $500 or $250 for each party who is eligible for subsidy, whichever is
less; and that I am not an employee of the State of Nevada, and therefore, I am eligible to receive
subsidy payments from the State.

I acknowledge that Mediation proceedings can be subsidized based application approval and to
the extent that funds are available per Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 116.520(1).

I CERTIFY that the above information and any other information I am submitting for this
application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and that I may be removed from the
Mediation panel or the approved Division Neutral List for intentionally falsifying the information
provided. False certification may also subject me to civil or criminal penalties. I understand that
all of the information provided is a public record. I agree to comply with all provisions of NRS
Chapter 38.

If I am listed on the Division Neutral list, I agree to perform resolution services to the best of my
ability in an ethical and proper manner and in accordance with the time provisions of the
Mediation process.

I acknowledge that unless otherwise agreed to by the parties, the mediator is appointed on a
rotating basis within the discretion of the Division.

State of Nevada
County of

Signature Print Name Date

I certify that this is a true and correct copy of a document in the possession of: ,

on

(Name of person who presented document)

Revised 11/8/17

of , 20

Title (and Rank):

Printed Name:

My Commission Expires:
(SEAL)
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Attestation A

STATE OF NEVADA
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY
REAL ESTATE DIVISION
OFFICE OF THE OMBUDSMAN FOR COMMON-INTEREST COMMUNITIES
MEDIATOR PROGRAM
SOLICITATION #CIC-MED-18-001

Declaration of Certification
of Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 116
and
Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 116
(including R050-13 and R052-13)

(print name)
certify that I have read and understand the provisions, amendments, and revisions
in chapter 116 of Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) and Nevada Administrative

Code (NAC) identified above.

“I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Nevada
that the foregoing is true and correct.”

Executed on

Date Signature



Attestation B

STATE OF NEVADA
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY
REAL ESTATE DIVISION
OFFICE OF THE OMBUDSMAN FOR COMMON-INTEREST COMMUNITIES
MEDIATOR PROGRAM
SOLICITATION #CIC-MED-18-001

Declaration of Certification
of Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 38.300-.360 and
Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 38.350

(print name)
certify that I have read and understand the statutes and amendments to Nevada

Revised Statute (NRS) 38 and the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 38.

“I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Nevada
that the foregoing is true and correct.”

Executed on

Date Signature



COST PROPOSAL

VENDOR

The parties agree that Contractor will provide mediation services specified in paragraph 4 at a
cost to the parties of no more than $500.00 for 3 hours of mediation, to be split equally by both
sides. Any additional mediation time may be billed at a cost of no more than $200.00 per hour,
and must be approved by the parties to the mediation. The parties to the mediation are billed for
the mediator’s service.

Cost of services per 3 hours $

Additional Cost of mediation time $ /per hour

Signature




STATE OF NEVADA

BRIAN SANDOVAL C.J. MANTHE

Governor

Director

SHARATH CHANDRA
Administrator

CHARVEZ FOGER
Ombudsman

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY
REAL ESTATE DIVISION

CICOmbudsman@red.nv.gov
www.red.nv.gov

MEDIATION POLICIES & PROCEDURES

I. FILING AND SUBMISSION OF CLAIMS AND RESPONSES

a.

Each Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) claim is filed on form #520 and is submitted to the Real
Estate Division, along with a $50.00 filing fee.

On the claim form #520, the claimant will indicate that they would like to participate in mediation by
checking “Mediation” on the form.

After reviewing the list of available mediators, the claimant will note their mediator selection on page 3 of
the claim form.

If the claimant wishes to apply for subsidy, the completed form #668 will be submitted along with the
claim.

The claimant serves the respondent, who will then have 30 days to complete the response form and file it
with the Division along with their $50.00 filing fee.

If the claimant has selected mediation and the respondent selects the referee program, the method of
resolution will default to mediation. This also applies if a claimant selects the referee program and the
respondent does not agree to utilize this method.

The respondent must note if they are in agreement with the claimant’s selection of mediation or referee by
selecting their method to resolution, either mediation or referee. (#521).

If there is no response within 30 days of service, the claimant is forwarded a letter stating that the other
party did not respond after being served — therefore, no referee hearing OR mediation will be scheduled.

A claim that is closed due to lack of response may be reopened upon request from the claimant should a
response be received within (1) year of closure without an additional claimant filing fee - allowing further
opportunity for the parties to satisfy the requirements of NRS 38.310.

I1. ASSIGNMENT OF MEDIATOR

a.

The respondent submits their response form to the Division that indicates whether they agree with the
claimant’s selection of mediator. If they do not agree with the selection, a mediator will be randomly
assigned. If they are in agreement with the selection of mediator, then that mediator will preside over the
claim.

The Division will then forward an assignment letter along with the claim and response forms to the
assigned mediator.

Upon receipt of the assignment letter and review of the forms, the mediator will notify the Division,
within in three (3) business days, if a conflict of interest exists with any party.

3300 W. Sahara Avenue, Suite 350, Las Vegas, Nevada 89102-3203 Telephone: (702) 486-4033  Fax: (702) 486-4067
1818 E. College Parkway, Suite 110, Carson City, Nevada 89706-7986 Telephone: (775) 684-1900  Fax: (775) 687-4868
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Should there be no conflict of interest, the mediator shall sign the mediator disclaimer form and submit at
the time the claim is closed.

Within three (3) days of assignment and review of the claim, the mediator will contact both parties to set
up a time and date for the mediation. The mediator will request that each party submit a written statement
which sets forth the issues in dispute no later than 5 days before the mediation is scheduled to be
conducted.

MEDIATOR PROCEEDINGS AND DECISION

a.

The mediator is responsible for securing a location that is amenable to the parties. The mediator
schedules and conducts a mediation that does not exceed 3 hours at the rate of $500.00 for three hours,
unless the parties agree to an extension of time, at an hourly rate that is not to exceed $200.00 per hour.

Mediators are to use their best effort to conclude mediation proceedings within 60 days from the date the
claim was filed. Within 20 days after the conclusion of the mediation, any agreement obtained through
mediation pursuant to NRS 38.330 must be reduced to writing by the mediator and a copy thereof
provided to each party.

An agreement reached through mediation may be enforced as any other written agreement. Mediation
agreements are deemed as confidential — therefore, the mediator does not need to submit a copy of the
signed agreement to the Division, but shall advise the Division as to the date of the mediation’s
conclusion and the result (successful or unsuccessful).

Should the parties not come to an agreement at the conclusion of a mediation, either party may proceed
with a civil court filing within 30 days after the date of the unsuccessful mediation.

I11. BILLING AND PAYMENT

a.

Mediators may request a deposit of up to $250.00 from each party prior to the start of mediation
proceedings. If a deposit is received, any amounts that are unused by the mediator must be returned to the
party or parties.

Should subsidy be granted by the Division, an ‘Invoice’ (form #631) must be submitted at the time of
notification of the mediation’s conclusion and the result. Any amounts approved for subsidy (up to
$250.00 per party) will be direct deposited into the referee’s account on file with the State, up to 60 days
after the receipt of the billing statement and decision.



This form is to be used if the awarded vendor is a sole proprietor and rejects the State’s requirement of
Workers Compensation.

Contact Risk Management for assistance at (775) 687-3188.



DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION

RISK MANAGEMENT

AFFIDAVIT OF REJECTION OF INDUSTRIAL INSURANCE COVERAGE

STATE OF )
) ss.
COUNTY )
l, , being first duly sworn, depose and state as follows under penalty of

perjury, and by my initials on each paragraph, | certify that | have read and understand each paragraph.
1. I make this affidavit for the purpose of rejecting industrial insurance coverage, pursuant to NRS
616B.627 and NRS 617.210, in connection with entering into a Contract with the State of Nevada or
political subdivision of the State of Nevada. After reviewing those statutes and the definitions of “sole
proprietor” in NRS 616A.310 and NRS 617.145, | believe | qualify to reject industrial insurance coverage,
and | covenant that | will not knowingly do anything that would disqualify me from rejecting industrial
insurance under those statutes, without first withdrawing this Affidavit of Rejection and obtaining all
statutorily required industrial insurance coverage.

2.1 am a sole proprietor, as defined by NRS 616A.310 and NRS 617.145, who will not use the services of
any employees, subcontractors, or independent contractors in the performance of this Contract with
the State of Nevada.

3. In accordance with the provisions of NRS 616B.659, | have elected to reject the industrial insurance
terms, conditions, and provisions of NRS Chapters 616A to 616D inclusive. By doing so | acknowledge
that if | incur an industrial injury or occupational disease in the performance of this Contract that |
waive and will be disqualified to receive any workers’ compensation coverage pursuant to Nevada law
or the laws of any other state where | have waived coverage.

4. In accordance with the provisions of NRS 617.225, | have elected to reject the workers’ compensation
terms, conditions, and the provisions of NRS Chapter 617 as it relates to occupational diseases. By doing
so, | acknowledge that if | incur an industrial injury or occupational disease in the performance of this
Contract that | waive and will be disqualified to receive any workers’ compensation or occupational
disease benefits pursuant to Nevada law or the laws of any other state where | have waived coverage.

5. I acknowledge that the State of Nevada will not be considered to be my employer or the employer of
my employees, subcontractors or independent contractors, if any; and that the State of Nevada is not
liable as a principal contractor to me or my employees, subcontractors or independent contractors for
any compensation or other damages as a result of an industrial injury or occupational disease incurred



in the performance of this Contract.

6. | acknowledge that by signing this waiver | am not eligible for any workers’ compensation or
occupational disease benefits that | may be otherwise eligible, in the performance of this Contract. |
acknowledge that should | incur any industrial injury or occupational disease in the performance of this
Contract that | will be responsible for any costs, including medical, disability and rehabilitation benefits
that I mayincur.

7. Prior to executing this affidavit, | have had a full and fair opportunity to answer any questions | may
have had regarding industrial insurance or occupational disease benefits and liabilities under Nevada
law, including the opportunity to consult with counsel of my choice, and this Waiver is made with full
knowledge of any liabilities that may incur.

8. | have read the provisions of NRS Chapters 616A to 616D, inclusive, and NRS Chapter 617 and | am
otherwise in compliance with the terms, conditions and provisions thereof.

9. |, , do hereby swear under penalty of perjury that the assertions of

this affidavit are true.

NAME
SUBSCRIBED and SWORN to before me

by
this day of 20

Notary Public, in and for said
County and State
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