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Disclaimer!

 Staff in the Ombudsman’s Office is prohibited from providing legal advice. All 

materials produced and provided to the public are for informational purposes 

only and do not serve as legal advice.

 Should confusion arise requiring the interpretation and application of the law to 

your association’s specific circumstances, a legal opinion from a qualified 

attorney may be necessary.

 Please review the course calendar, training request form, and presentations 

published on the training webpage to gain an understanding of additional 

opportunities for education and training. See our training webpage at 

http://red.nv.gov/Content/CIC/Program_Training/.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH

2

http://red.nv.gov/Content/CIC/Program_Training/


Introduction

 NRS 116 contains several provisions of law that specify timeframes for 

delivering forms to the Division and various notices to unit owners.

 The focus of this class is on the requirements and timeframes concerning 

the most frequently used Division forms and notice provisions.

 The full content of each provision is not covered. Should you have 

questions above and beyond the timeframes for delivery, it is highly 

recommended that you review the complete language of the law and 

attend additional training.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Initial Registration of New Association
Form 603

 This form should be used when an association or 

condominium hotel registers with the Office of the 

Ombudsman for the first time (provided that the 

association organized no later than the date the 

first unit in the common-interest community was 

conveyed). 

 This registration is required pursuant to NRS 116.3101 

and NRS 116B.415 to comply with chapters 78, 81, 

82, 86, 87, 88 and 88A of the Nevada Revised 

Statutes and must be completed before filing the 

articles of incorporation, certificates of registration 

or certificates of limited partnership, or any 

certificate of amendment thereof, with the 

Secretary of State.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Initial Registration of New Association
Form 603

 A unit-owners’ association must be organized no later 

than the date the first unit is conveyed (sold);

 The association must be organized as a profit or nonprofit 

corporation, association, limited-liability company, trust, 

partnership or any other form of organization authorized 

by state law;

 Contain in its name the words “common-interest 

community,” “community association,” “master 

association,” “homeowners’ association” or “unit-owners’ 

association”; and

 Register with the Secretary of State its articles, complying 

with the applicable provisions of state law.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Annual Registration
Form 562

➢ This registration form and the annual per unit fee of 
$4.25 must be received by the Office of the 
Ombudsman, no earlier than 45 days and no later 
than the last business day for the State of Nevada, 
in the month the association incorporated with the 
Office of the Secretary of State.

➢ If the association fails to pay the fee on time, the 
Division shall impose an administrative penalty 
totaling 10% of the fees owed or $500, whichever 
amount is less [NRS 116.31155(4)].

➢ The amount of the unpaid fees bears interest equal 
to the prime rate at the largest bank in Nevada, as 
ascertained by the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions from the date owed to the date the fees 
are paid in full [NRS 116.31155(4)].

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Common Mistakes to Avoid; Annual Registration

 The website should routinely be checked prior to filing to ensure the most up to 

date form is used. Information submitted using outdated forms will not be 
processed.

 The form must be completed entirely prior to submission.

 Form should be vetted (proofread) for accuracy.

 The most common missing information is the signature at the end of the form.

 Incorrect information on the form that does not match official records should be 

avoided (entity number and the association’s legal name with Secretary of 

State [SOS]). Be sure to check the SOS’s website for current association 

information at https://esos.nv.gov/EntitySearch/OnlineEntitySearch.

 Typed forms are best, as handwritten forms can be difficult to read depending 

on penmanship.

 If no reserve study has been conducted, an explanation must be included.

 Complete physical addresses are required for each board member serving, in 

addition to their telephone number. Email addresses should be provided as well.

 If two or more board members share the same physical address or the same last 

name, an explanation of their relationship is required.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Registration Filing Addendum
Form 623

 The association shall submit the 

Registration Filing Addendum to the 

Division within 30 days of any change in 

the contact information of a member of 

the executive board or hired agents 

(NAC 116.385).

 There are no fees associated with this 

form.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Reserve Study Summary
Form 609

 Using form 609, a summary of the reserve 

study must be submitted to NRED no later 

than:

 45 days after the date that the 

executive board adopts the results of 

the study [NRS 116.31152(4)]; 

 210 days after the executive board 

receives a draft of the study [NAC 

116.435].

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Certification of Board Members
Form 602

 Each member of the executive board shall, 

within 90 days after his or her appointment or 

election, certify in writing to the association, on 
form 602, that the member has read and 

understands the governing documents of the 

association and the provisions of NRS 116 to 

the best of his or her ability.

 This form becomes a record of the association 

to be maintained for 10 years (NRS 
116.31175[7]).

 Do not submit this form to the Division unless 

requested to do so.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Knowledge Check

1. The Registration Filing Addendum form 623 must be submitted to the Division 

within ___ days after a change in board membership or registered agents.

2. Along with the Annual Association Registration form, the association must submit 
payment of the per unit fee of $_______.

3. When must the Reserve Study Summary form 609 be submitted to the Division?

4. When does the Declaration of Certification of Executive Board Members form 

602 need to be completed by a newly elected or appointed board member?

5. The amount of the unpaid registration fees bears interest equal to the ______ 

rate at the largest bank in Nevada, as ascertained by the Commissioner of 
Financial Institutions.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Changes to 

Governing 

Documents
NRS 116.12065

15
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Within 30 days after a change is made to the 
governing documents:

• The secretary or other officer specified in the bylaws shall 
prepare and cause to be delivered a copy of the 
change that was made.

Governing documents include [NRS 116.049]:

• The declaration of CC&Rs;

• The articles of incorporation, organization, etc.;

• The bylaws;

• Rules & regulations; and

• Any other documents that govern the operation of the 
CIC (i.e. reserve study, fine schedule, collection policy, 
design guidelines, resolutions, etc.)

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-116.html#NRS116Sec12065


Unavailability of Insurance
NRS 116.3113(3)

 If the insurance required by law 

(property, commercial general liability, 

crime insurance, directors and officers 

insurance) is not reasonably available, 

the association shall cause notice of 

that fact to be promptly given to all 

units’ owners.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Insurance Cancellation
NRS 116.31133(3)

 The insurer issuing the policy may not 

cancel or refuse to renew it until 30 

days after notice of the proposed 
cancellation or nonrenewal has been 

mailed to the association, each unit’s 

owner and each holder of a security 

interest to whom a certificate or 

memorandum of insurance has been 

issued at their respective last known 

addresses.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Budget
NRS 116.31151(1)

 Unless the declaration imposes more stringent 

standards, 30 to 60 days before the beginning of 

the fiscal year of the association:

 The executive board shall prepare and distribute to 

each unit’s owner a copy of the budget for the daily 

operation of the association and the budget to 

provide adequate funding for the reserves. 

 In lieu of distributing copies of the budgets, the 

executive board may distribute to each unit’s owner 

a summary of those budgets, accompanied by a 

written notice that the budgets are available for 

review and copies of the budgets will be provided 

upon request.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Meeting Notices
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Unit Owner Meeting Notice
NRS 116.3108(3)

 Between 15 to 60 days before the meeting, the Secretary or other 
officer specified in the bylaws shall cause notice to be delivered of 
the units’ owners meeting stating the time and place of the 
meeting, including:

1. A copy of the agenda (including any amendments to the 
declaration, fees or assessments to be imposed or increased, 
budgetary changes, proposal to remove a board member, 
etc.);

2. Notice of a unit owner’s right to have a copy of the minutes or a 
summary of the minutes provided upon request; and

3. Notice of a unit owner’s right to speak to the association or 
executive board. 

 This meeting must be held at least once a year, at a time and place 
stated or fixed in the bylaws, the election happens (counting of 
ballots or candidates duly elected) at the annual meeting.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Executive Board Meeting Notice
116.31083(2)

 Not less than 10 days before the meeting, unless the 

bylaws require a longer period of notice, the 

secretary or other officer specified in the bylaws shall 
cause notice of the board meeting to be given to 

the units’ owners, such notice can be:

 Hand delivered; sent U.S. mail, postage paid; sent 

electronically if the unit owner has provided the 

association with an email address; or

 Published in a newsletter or other similar 

publication that is circulated to each unit’s 
owner.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Executive Board Meeting Notice, Cont’d
116.31083(2)

 The notice must include:

 The time and place of the meeting;

 A copy of the agenda, OR state the date and location(s) where copies of the agenda 
may be conveniently obtained by the unit’s owner;

 Notification of the right of a unit’s owner to have a copy of the audio recording, the 
minutes, or a summary of the minutes provided to the unit’s owner upon request; and

 Speak to the association or executive board, unless the board is meeting in executive 
session.

 The association must provide the meeting minutes or summary of the minutes in electronic 
format at no charge, if the association is UNABLE to, in paper format at a cost not to 
exceed 25 cents per page for the first 10 pages and 10 cents per page thereafter.

 These meetings must be held at least once a quarter and not less than once every 100 
days, or as often as needed to properly and efficiently address the affairs of the 
association.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Board Meeting in Executive Session Notice
NRS 116.31083(3)

 If the executive session is limited exclusively to discussing a violation of the governing 
documents (holding a hearing):

 The secretary or other officer specified in the bylaws is required to give notice of the 
meeting ONLY to a person who may be subject to a hearing scheduled for that 
meeting.

 If the executive session is limited exclusively to consulting with the attorney on privileged 
matters relating to proposed or pending litigation, or discussing the character, alleged 
misconduct, professional competence, or physical or mental health of a community 
manager or an employee of the association:

 The secretary or other officer specified in the bylaws is required to POST notice of the 
executive session in one or more prominent places in the community AND provide 
electronic notice to all units’ owners who have provided the association with an email 
address.

 Notification is only provided to keep unit owners in the loop, unit owners are not entitled to 
attend meetings held in executive session.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Emergency Meeting Notice
NRS 116.31083(4)

 Notice of an emergency meeting must be sent prepaid by United States mail to 
the mailing address of each unit. If delivery of the notice in this manner is 
impracticable: 

 the notice must be hand-delivered to each unit within the common-interest 
community; OR

 posted in a prominent place or places within the common-elements of the 
association.

 An emergency is defined as any occurrence that:

 Could NOT have been reasonably foreseen;

 Affects the health, welfare, safety of residents;

 Requires the immediate attention of and possible action by the executive 
board; AND 

 Makes it impracticable to comply with notice and agenda requirements.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Meeting Notice Regarding Civil Action
NRS 116.31088(1)

 At least 21 calendar days before the date of the meeting:

 The association shall provide written notice to each unit’s owner 

of a meeting at which the commencement of a civil action is to 

be considered. This does not apply to civil actions being 

commenced: 

 to enforce the payment of an assessment; 

 to enforce the declaration, bylaws or rules of the association; 

 to enforce a contract with a vendor; 

 to proceed with a counterclaim; or

 to protect the health, safety and welfare of the members of 

the association.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Meeting for Capital Improvement Assessment

NRS 116.31088(1)

 At least 21 calendar days before the 

meeting:

 The association shall provide written 

notice to each unit’s owner of a 

meeting at which an assessment for a 

capital improvement is to be 

considered or action is to be taken on 

such an assessment.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH

26

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-116.html#NRS116Sec31088


Meeting Notice for Budget Ratification
NRS 116.31151(3)

 Within 60 days after adoption of any proposed 

budget by the board at a board meeting:

 The executive board shall provide a summary of the 

proposed budget to each unit’s owner and shall set a 

date, not less than 14 days or more than 30 days after the 

mailing of the summaries, for a meeting of the units’ 

owners to consider ratification of the proposed budget.

 Unless at that meeting a majority of all unit’s owners deny 

the adopted budget. If the budget is rejected, then the 

periodic budget previously ratified remains in effect.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Collection Policy
NRS 116.31151(4)

 30 to 60 days before the beginning of the fiscal 

year of the association, unless the declaration 

imposes more stringent standards:

 The executive board shall, at the same time and in 

the same manner that it makes the budget 

available, make available to each unit’s owner the 

policy established for the association concerning 

the collection of any fees, fines, assessments or 

costs imposed against a unit’s owner.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Complaints on Board Meeting Agenda
NRS 116.31087(2)

 Within 10 business days after receiving a complaint 

alleging that the executive board has violated any 

provision of this chapter or any provision of the governing 
documents:

 The executive board or an authorized representative of the 

association shall acknowledge receipt of a unit owner’s 

complaint; and

 Notify the unit’s owner that, if he or she submits a written 

request that the subject of the complaint will be placed on 

the agenda of the next regularly scheduled meeting of the 

executive board.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Knowledge Check

1. How much notice is required prior to a meeting of the unit’s owners?

2. How much notice is required prior to a meeting of the executive board of 

directors?

3. How much time does the board have to respond to a unit owner’s written 

complaint that the board has violated a provision of NRS 116 or of the 

association’s governing documents?

4. How much notice is required prior to a meeting in which an assessment for a 

capital improvement is to be considered?

5. Within how many days following adoption of a new budget does the 
association have to send it or a summary of it out to the unit owners?

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Interruption of Utilities
NRS 116.345

 At least 10 days before the association 
interrupts any utility service, the 
association:

 shall in every case send a written notice of 
its intent to interrupt service. 

 An association may not interrupt any utility 
service except for the nonpayment of utility 
charges when due. The interruption of any 
utility service must be performed in 
accordance with all laws, regulations and 
governing documents.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Towing
NRS 116.3102(1)(s)

 At least 48 hours before the association may direct 

the removal of an improperly parked vehicle on a 

private street:

 The association must post written notice in a 

conspicuous place on the vehicle OR provide oral or 

written notice to the owner or operator of the vehicle, 

unless:

 The vehicle is blocking a fire hydrant, fire lane or parking 

space designated for the handicapped; or

 Poses an imminent threat of causing a substantial adverse 

effect on the health, safety, or welfare of the units’ owners 

or residents of the common-interest community.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Fine Schedule
NRS 116.31031(3)

 Promptly, once adopted, and before any 
fines can be imposed:

 the secretary or other officer specified in the 
bylaws shall prepare and cause to be hand 
delivered or sent prepaid by United States 
mail to the mailing address of each unit or to 
any other mailing address designated in 
writing by the unit’s owner, a schedule of the 
fines that may be imposed for those 
violations. The fine schedule should also then 
be included in any resale packages. 

 The fine schedule should be sent out once 
each year at the same time and in the same 
manner as the budget and collection policy 
(NRS 116.31151[4]) and within 30 days after 
any change being made (NRS 116.12065).

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Violation Notice
NRS 116.31031

 Within a reasonable time after discovery of the alleged violation and providing enough time 
to prepare for a hearing:

 The executive board may not impose a fine unless the person against whom the fine will be 
imposed has been provided with written notice specifying in detail: 

 the alleged violation; 

 the proposed action to cure the alleged violation; 

 the amount of the fine; 

 the date, time and location for a hearing on the alleged violation; and

 a clear and detailed photograph of the alleged violation when possible. 

 The executive board must schedule the hearing so that the unit’s owner and, if different, the person 
against whom the fine will be imposed is provided with a reasonable opportunity to prepare for the 
hearing and to be present at the hearing.

 A unit’s owner shall not be deemed to have received written notice unless it is mailed to the 
address of the unit and, if different, to a mailing address specified by the unit’s owner.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH

35

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-116.html#NRS116Sec31031


Abatement Notice – Units w/ Common Walls
NRS 116.310312

 If a unit is in a building that contains units divided by 

horizontal boundaries described in the declaration, 

or vertical boundaries that comprise common walls 
between units, and the unit is vacant, the 

association, including its employees, agents and 

community manager, may enter the grounds and 

interior of the unit to:

a) Abate a water or sewage leak in the unit and remove 

any water or sewage from the unit that is causing 

damage or, if not immediately abated, may cause 

damage to the common elements or another unit if 

the unit’s owner refuses or fails to abate the water or 
sewage leak.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Abatement Notice – Units w/ Common Walls
NRS 116.310312

b) After providing the unit’s owner with notice but before a hearing in accordance 
with the provisions of NRS 116.31031:

1) Remove any furniture, fixtures, appliances and components of the unit that were 
damaged as a result of water or mold damage resulting from a water or sewage leak 
to the extent such removal is reasonably necessary because water or mold damage 
threatens the health or safety of the residents of the common-interest community, 
results in blighting or deterioration of the unit or the surrounding area and adversely 
affects the use and enjoyment of nearby units, if the unit’s owner refuses or fails to 
remediate or remove the water or mold damage.

2) Remediate or remove any water or mold damage in the unit resulting from the water 
or sewage leak to the extent such remediation or removal is reasonably necessary 
because the water or mold damage threatens the health or safety of the residents of 
the common-interest community, results in blighting or deterioration of the unit or the 
surrounding area and adversely affects the use and enjoyment of nearby units, if the 
unit’s owner refuses or fails to remediate or remove the water or mold damage.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Notice of Delinquent Assessment
NRS 116.31162(4)

➢ Not earlier than 60 days after the obligation 

(assessment) becomes past due:

1. The association must mail to the address on file 
for the unit’s owner or, if authorized by the 

parties, deliver by electronic transmission: a 

schedule of the fees that may be charged if the 

unit’s owner fails to pay the past due obligation; 

2. a proposed repayment plan; 

3. a notice of the right to contest the past due 

obligation at a hearing before the executive 
board; and

4. the procedures for requesting such a hearing. 

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Notice of Default and Election to Sell
NRS 116.31162(1)(b)

➢ This notice is sent no less than 30 days after mailing or delivering by electronic transmission 

the Notice of Delinquent Assessment.

➢ This notice must contain the same information as the notice of delinquent assessment and 

also describe the total amount of the deficiency in payment, with a separate statement of: 

➢ the amount of the association’s lien that is prior to the first security interest on the unit as of the date of the 

notice; 

➢ the amount of the lien that is attributable to assessments as of the date of the notice; 

➢ the amount of the lien that is attributable to abatement as of the date of the notice; and 

➢ the amount of the lien that is attributable to the costs of enforcing the association’s lien as of the date of the 

notice (look to the law for additional inclusions). 

➢ The notice of default and election to sell must be signed by the person designated in the 

declaration or by the association for that purpose. If no one is designated, by the president. 

➢ The notice must also be recorded in the county in which the CIC is located.

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Notice of Sale
NRS 116.311635

 If the unit’s owner or his or her successor in interest 
fails to pay the amount of the lien within 90 days 
following the recordation of the notice of default 
and election to sell, the association shall give 
notice of the time and place of the sale by 
recording the notice of sale before selling the unit 
and:

 posting a similar notice particularly describing 
the unit for 20 days consecutively in a public 
place in the county where the unit is situated; 

 publishing a copy of the notice three times, 
once each week for 3 consecutive weeks, in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the county 
where the unit is situated; AND 

 mailing a copy of the notice of sale, on or 
before the date of first publication or posting, 
by certified or registered mail, return receipt 
requested, to the unit’s owner or his or her 
successor in interest at his or her address, if 
known, and to the address of the unit. 

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Notice of Sale
NRS 116.311635

➢ Additionally, a copy of the notice of sale must 

be served by a person who is 18 years of age 

or older and who is not a party to or 

interested in the sale by personally delivering 

a copy of the notice of sale to an occupant 

of the unit who is of suitable age or by posting 

a copy of the notice of sale in a conspicuous 

place on the unit. 

➢ Any copy of the notice of sale required to be 

served must include the amount necessary to 

satisfy the lien as of the date of the proposed 

sale and the warning included in NRS 

116.311635(3)(b). 

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Election Notices
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Nomination Forms
NRS 116.31034(4)

 Not less than 30 days before 

the preparation of a ballot, the 

secretary or other officer 

specified in the bylaws shall 

cause notice to be given to 

each unit’s owner of their 

eligibility to serve as a member 

of the board. 

Office of the Ombudsman for CICCH
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Nomination Forms
NRS 116.31034(4)

➢ Before the secretary or other officer causes notice to be given to each unit’s owner of his or 

her eligibility to serve as a member of the executive board, the board may determine that if, 

at the closing of the prescribed period for nominations, the number of nominees is equal to 

or less than the number of members to be elected to the executive board at the election, 

then:

➢ The association will not prepare or mail any ballots to units’ owners; and

➢ The nominated candidates shall be deemed to be duly elected to the executive board at the 
meeting of the units’ owners at which the ballots would have been counted.

➢ IF the board determines that it intends to use the duly elected process, the secretary or other 

officer specified in the bylaws shall disclose the determination AND include the provision NRS 

116.31034(5) in the nomination form [NRS 116.31034(6)].

➢ In the event ballots are not prepared and mailed, the association shall distribute candidate 

disclosures to each member of the association in the next regular mailing of the association.
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Ballots
NRS 116.31034(15)

 At least 15 days prior to the opening and counting of 

ballots:

 the association shall prepare and mail ballots, with 

candidate disclosures to each member of the 

association if, at the closing period for nominations, the 

number of candidates is greater than the number of 

vacancies, 

 The secretary or other officer specified in the bylaws 

shall cause a secret ballot and return envelope to be 

sent, prepaid by United States mail, to the mailing 

address of each unit within the common-interest 
community or to any other mailing address 
designated in writing by the unit’s owner.
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Removal Election
NRS 116.31036

 Ballots must be sent not less than 15 or more than 60 days

after the date on which the recall petition is received.

 The secretary or other officer specified in the bylaws shall 

cause a secret ballot and return envelope to be sent, 

prepaid by United States mail, to the mailing address of 

each unit within the common-interest community or to 

any other mailing address designated in writing by the 

unit’s owner. 

 The executive board shall set the date for the meeting to 

open and count the secret written ballots so that it is held 

not more than 15 days after the deadline for returning 

the secret written ballots and not later than 90 days after 

the date on which the petition was received. 
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Final Knowledge Check

1. When do nomination forms need to be sent out to the unit owners?

2. The deadline for the meeting to open and count the removal election ballots 
must be within how many days of the deadline to return the ballots to the 
association?

a. How many days overall does the association have to complete a removal election 
after receiving the written petition?

3. The association must provide notice at least ___ days in advance of interrupting 
any utility service.

4. How much notice must be provided before a vehicle may be towed from the 
community?

a. Are there any exceptions? If so, what are they?
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Summary

 There are many types of forms and provisions of law that 

require the association to adhere to certain timeframes when 

delivering notices.

 It is highly encouraged that you review the complete 

language of the law for free by visiting: 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-116.html.

 If ever you have questions or are in need of clarification 

concerning a particular provision of law, you are welcome to 

contact our office.
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Questions?

 http://red.nv.gov/ - Main Page

CICOmbudsman@red.nv.gov – Email Questions

 http://red.nv.gov/Content/CIC/Program_Training/
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