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Section 1. Chapter 645 of NAC is hereby amended by adding thereto the provisions set 

forth as sections 2 to 6, inclusive, of this regulation. 

Sec. 2. “First-time licensee” means a licensee who, at the time of the issuance of his or her 

current real estate license, has not held a real estate license issued by this State within the 

immediately preceding 5 years. 

Sec. 3. “Initial license” means the first issuance of a real estate license of any kind in this 

State to a first-time licensee. 

Sec. 4. “Rural area” means any area which is more than 100 miles from a city in this 

State whose population is 40,000 or more. 

Sec. 5.  NAC 645.4443  Course requirements for first time licensees exempt from 

postlicensing education.  

1. Each first-time licensee who is exempt from the requirement for postlicensing 

education pursuant to subsection 2 of NAC 645.4442 must successfully complete 24 hours of 

continuing education within the first initial licensing period. The 24 hours of continuing 

education required pursuant to this subsection must include: 

(a) Three hours in each of the following areas: 

(1) Agency relationships; 

(2) Nevada law, with an emphasis on recent statutory and regulatory changes; 

(3) Contracts; and 

(4) Ethics. 

(b) At least 12 hours must be provided through live instruction in which the first-time 

licensee and the instructor are in the same room, except that first-time licensees who live in a 

rural area may, with the prior written approval of the Division, complete the required hours of 

continuing education in a distance education course that involves interaction with the 

instructor and other students. 

 

Sec. 6. NAC 645.449  Specific requirements for reinstatement of license.   

1. If an initial license has been placed on inactive status during first year and the licensee 

applies for reinstatement during the first year of licensure:  

(a) A licensee who is required to take a postlicensing course of education pursuant to 

subsection 1 of NAC 645.4442 must provide the Division with proof of successful completion 

of that course of education.  

(b) A licensee who is exempt from taking a postlicensing course of education pursuant to 

NAC 645.4443 must provide the Division with proof of successful completion of the 24 hours 

of continuing education required NAC 645.4443.  
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2. If an initial license has been placed on inactive status for more than one year but less 

than 2 years after the first renewal period and the licensee applies for reinstatement of the 

license: 

(a) A licensee who is required to take a postlicensing course of education pursuant to 

NAC 645.4442 must provide the Division with proof of successful completion of that course of 

education and the 12 hours of continuing education devoted to ethics, professional conduct or 

the legal aspects of real estate and must include 3 hours of live instruction in each of the 

following areas:  

(1) Agency relationships;  

(2) Nevada law, with an emphasis on recent statutory and regulatory changes;  

(3) Contracts; and 

(4) Ethics. 

(b) A licensee who is exempt from taking a postlicensing course of education pursuant to 

NAC 645.4443 must provide the Division with proof of successful completion of the 24 hours 

of continuing education required NAC 645.4443.  

3. If an initial license has been placed on inactive status for a period of more than 2 years, 

part of which was during the initial license period and the licensee applies for reinstatement of 

the license: 

(a) A licensee who is required to take a postlicensing course of education pursuant to 

NAC 645.4442 must provide the Division with proof of successful completion of: 

 (1) The postlicensing course of education;  

(2) An additional 24 hours of approved courses of continuing education pursuant 

subsection 1 of NAC 645.448.  

(b) A licensee who is exempt from taking a postlicensing course of education pursuant to 

NAC 645.4443 must provide the Division with proof of successful completion of:  

(1) Twenty-four hours of continuing education as required by NAC 645.4443; and  

(2) An additional 24 hours of approved courses of continuing education as required 

by subsection 1 of NAC 645.448. 

4. If a license has been placed on inactive status after the renewal of the initial license 

and the licensee applies for reinstatement of the license:  

(a) If the license was on inactive status for 2 years or less, no part of which was during 

the initial licensing period, the licensee must provide the Division with proof of successful 

completion of at least 24 hours of approved courses of continuing education. Not less than 12 

of the hours required pursuant to this paragraph must be devoted to ethics, professional 

conduct or the legal aspects of real estate and must include 3 hours in each of the following 

areas:  

(1) Agency relationships;  

(2) Nevada law, with an emphasis on recent statutory and regulatory changes;  

(3) Contracts; and 

 (4) Ethics.  

(b) If the license was on inactive status for more than 2 years, no part of which was 
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during the initial licensing period, the licensee must provide the Division with proof of 

successful completion of at least 48 hours of approved courses of continuing education. Not 

less than 24 of the hours required pursuant to this paragraph must be devoted to ethics, 

professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate and must include 6 hours in each of the 

following areas:  

(1) Agency relationships;  

(2) Nevada law, with an emphasis on recent statutory and regulatory changes;  

(3) Contracts; and 

  (4) Ethics.  

5. Each course of continuing education and postlicensing education module used to meet 

the requirements of this section must be completed within the 2 years immediately preceding 

the date of application for reinstatement of a license.  

6. At least 50 percent of the total hours of required continuing education set forth in this 

section must be taken through live instruction in which the licensee and the instructor are in 

the same room, except that a licensee who lives in a rural area may, with the prior written 

approval of the Division, complete the required hours of continuing education in distance 

education courses that involve interaction with the instructor and other students.  

7. A licensee who fails to comply with the requirements for postlicensing education or 

continuing education set forth in this section is subject to immediate involuntary inactivation 

of the license by the Division and an administrative fine in the amount set forth in subsection 

1 of NAC 645.695.  

 

Sec. 7.  NAC 645.095 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     645.095    1.  The Division may deny any application for registration as an owner-developer, 

a license or a permit issued by the Division pursuant to this chapter or chapter 645 of NRS for 

any reason which is sufficient to deny a license pursuant to NRS 645.330 or when one or more of 

the following conditions exist: 

(a) The application is not in proper form; 

(b) The application is not accompanied by the required fees; 

(c) The accompanying forms are incomplete or otherwise unsatisfactory; 

(d) The application contains a false statement; 

(e) Other deficiencies appear in the application; 

(f) An investigation fails to show affirmatively that the applicant possesses the necessary 

qualifications, including, without limitation, good moral character and financial responsibility; 

(g) The applicant has willfully acted or attempted to act in violation of chapter 113, 116, 

119, 119A, 645, 645A, 645C or 645D of NRS or the regulations adopted pursuant thereto, or has 

willfully aided and abetted another to act or attempt to act in violation of those chapters or 

regulations; 

(h) The check used in paying the required fees for the registration, license or permit is not 

honored by the financial institution upon which it is drawn; or 
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(i) If the application is for registration as an owner-developer, the applicant fails to verify 

that he or she is a licensed contractor in this State. 

2. The Administrator may require proof of the applicant’s moral character. In determining 

that character, the Administrator shall consider: 

(a) The results of the Division’s investigation of matters stated in the application and other 

matters that have come to the attention of the Division as a result of the investigation of the 

Division; 

(b) Any history of arrest and conviction of the applicant; 

(c) The nature and history of the business of the applicant; and 

(d) Any past failure of the applicant to comply with any applicable requirements of chapter 

113, 116, 119, 119A, 645, 645A, 645C or 645D of NRS. 

3. An applicant whose application is denied by the Division may appeal the denial to the 

Commission in the manner set forth in NRS 645.440. If the Commission reverses the original 

decision and determines that the petitioner qualifies for registration, a license or a permit, the 

application may be accepted as of the date the application was originally submitted or the date on 

which the fee for the registration, license or permit was paid, whichever is later. The Division 

shall not charge an additional fee. 

4. If the Division denies an application pursuant to this section, the Division will not refund 

any fees paid pursuant to that application. 

 

Sec. 8.  NAC 645.102 is hereby amended to read as follows:   

      645.102     1.  Before a person who wishes to apply for a license as a real estate broker 

submits an application for the license pursuant to NRS 645.350, the person must obtain approval 

of his or her financial condition from the Division [pursuant to NAC 645.120]. 

     2.  An applicant for a license as a real estate broker must satisfy the requirements for a 

license as a real estate salesperson as set forth in NAC 645.100 except the educational 

requirements set forth in paragraph (b) of subsection 2 of NAC 645.100. In lieu of providing 

proof that he or she has satisfied the educational requirements for a license as a real estate 

salesperson, the applicant must include with an application submitted to the Division pursuant to 

NRS 645.350 proof that he or she has satisfied the educational requirements for a license as a 

real estate broker as set forth in NRS 645.343. 

     3.  In addition to satisfying the requirements set forth in subsection 2, an applicant for a 

license as a real estate broker must include with the application he or she submits to the Division 

pursuant to NRS 645.350 proof that the applicant has satisfied the experience requirements for a 

license as a real estate broker as set forth in subsection 4 of NRS 645.330. 

 

Sec. 9.   NAC 645.150 is hereby amended to read as follows:   

NAC 645.150 Investigation of [financial responsibility of] applicant for license as real estate 

broker; proof of good character of any applicant.   

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-645.html#NRS645Sec350
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-645.html#NAC645Sec120
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-645.html#NAC645Sec100
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-645.html#NAC645Sec100
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-645.html#NRS645Sec350
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-645.html#NRS645Sec343
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-645.html#NRS645Sec350
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-645.html#NRS645Sec330
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      645.150     1.  The Division may investigate [the financial responsibility of] each applicant 

for a license as a real estate broker and require the submission of such information as 

necessary to conduct the investigation. [If the Division determines that an applicant is not 

financially responsible, it may require that the applicant be licensed as a real estate broker-

salesperson until he or she meets the requirements of financial responsibility as determined by 

the Commission.] The Division may require an applicant for a license as a real estate broker to 

submit a credit report to the Division at his or her own expense dated within 30 days of the 

application. 

2.  [An applicant for a license as a real estate broker shall be deemed financially responsible 

if the applicant can show liquid assets sufficient to maintain an office for at least 180 days. The 

applicant’s cash on hand must be on deposit at least 90 days before the date of the application.] 

Anyone denied a license for lack of financial responsibility does not waive his or her right to 

appeal pursuant to NRS 645.440 by acceptance of a license as a real estate broker-salesperson. 

3. The Administrator may require other proof of the honesty, truthfulness and good 

reputation of any applicant, including the officers and directors of any corporation, or the 

members of any partnership or association making an application, before accepting an 

application for a license. 

     [4.   As used in this section, “liquid assets” means assets that are the equivalent of cash or 

easily converted into cash. The term: 

(a)  Includes, without limitation, money in a checking, savings or money market account 

and certificates of deposit. 

(b)  Does not include a line of credit.] 

 

Sec. 10.  NAC 645.225 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

645.225   The [Division shall only accept] results of an examination are, for the purpose of 

applying for a license or permit, valid for [taken during the] 12 months [, to the day, 

immediately preceding the date of application for a license] from the date the results of the 

examination were issued. 

Sec. 11. NAC 645.4442 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

NAC 645.4442 Courses required for first-time licensees; exempt licensees; standard of 

courses; effect of noncompliance. For licenses issued on or before June 30, 2015. 

645.4442   1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, each first-time licensee shall 

take a prescribed postlicensing course of education that focuses on practical applications of real 

estate transactions. The postlicensing course: 

(a) Must not repeat the content of the course work required to meet the educational 

requirements for an original license; 

       (b) Must constitute the education required to be completed by a licensee within the first year 

immediately after initial licensing pursuant to NRS 645.575; 

       (c)  Must be offered in modules; 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-645.html#NRS645Sec440
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-645.html#NRS645Sec575
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       (d)  Must be provided through live instruction in which the licensee and the instructor are in 

the same room, except that first-time licensees who live in a rural area may, with the prior 

written approval of the Division, take the postlicensing course as [an interactive or televideo] a 

distance education course that involves interaction with the instructor and other students; and 

      (e) Must provide the Division with proof of completion within the first year immediately 

after initial licensing. 

2.   The requirement for postlicensing education set forth in subsection 1 does not apply to a 

first-time licensee who complies with all requirements pursuant to NAC 645.4443 and who: 

(a) Holds a real estate license issued by another state or territory of the United States, or the 

District of Columbia, on the date on which the first-time licensee obtains a real estate license 

issued by the State of Nevada; 

(b) Held a license as a real estate broker, real estate broker-salesperson or real estate 

salesperson issued by the State of Nevada within the 5 years immediately preceding the date on 

which the first-time licensee obtained a license as a real estate salesperson; or 

(c) Is licensed as a real estate broker-salesperson and obtained the qualifications for 

licensure as a real estate broker-salesperson pursuant to the provisions of subsection 4 of NRS 

645.343. 

 3.   The postlicensing course may include material that has not previously been approved or 

allowed for continuing education credit. Courses approved for postlicensing education will not 

be accepted or approved as a course for continuing education. 

4.   The curriculum for postlicensing education must contain at least 15 modules that 

include, without limitation: 

      (a) Real estate contracts, including the writing and presenting of a purchase agreement and 

qualifying prospects; 

      (b) The listing process, market analysis and inspections; 

      (c)  Communication, technology and records management, including time management, 

goal setting and devising a plan of action; 

      (d) Buyer representation, including the buyer’s brokerage contract, fiduciary duties, 

disclosures, cooperation between agents and new-home tracts; 

       (e)  Professional conduct, etiquette and ethics; 

      (f) Advertising, including Regulation Z of the Truth in Lending Act of the Federal Trade 

Commission issued by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, 12 C.F.R. Part 

226, fair housing, the multiple-listing service, Internet websites and electronic mail; 

      (g)  Proceeds of sale, costs of sale and cost sheets; 

      (h) Agency relationships; 

      (i) Land; 

      (j) Regulatory disclosures, including disclosures required by federal, state and local 

governments; 

      (k) Property management; [and the management of common-interest communities;] 

      (l)  Escrow, title and closing processes; 

Discussion 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-645.html#NRS645Sec343
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-645.html#NRS645Sec343


POSSIBLE REGULATION CHANGE TO NAC 645 

7 
 

      (m) Financing; 

      (n) Negotiation; and 

      (o)  Tax opportunities and liabilities related to the client. 

     5.   Each first-time licensee must complete an additional 12 hours of continuing education 

within the first 2 years immediately after initial licensing. The additional 12 hours of continuing 

education: 

      (a)  Must include 3 hours in each of the following areas: 

          (1)  Agency relationships; 

          (2)  Nevada law, with an emphasis on recent statutory and regulatory changes; 

          (3)  Contracts; and 

          (4)  Ethics. 

      (b)  Must be provided through live instruction in which the licensee and the instructor are in 

the same room, except that first-time licensees who live in a rural area may, with the prior 

written approval of the Division, take the additional continuing education course as [an 

interactive or televideo] a distance education course that involves interaction with the instructor 

and other students. 

6. A first-time licensee who fails to comply with the requirements for postlicensing 

education set forth in this section is subject to immediate involuntary inactivation of the license 

by the Division and an administrative fine in the amount set forth in subsection 1 of NAC 

645.695. 

     [7.   As used in this section, “rural area” means any area which is more than 100 miles from 

a city in this State whose population is 40,000 or more.] 

 

Sec. 12. NAC 645.4442 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

NAC 645.4442 Courses required for first-time licensees; exempt licensees; standard of 

courses; effect of noncompliance. For licenses issued on or after July 1, 2015 

645.4442   1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, each first-time licensee shall 

take a prescribed postlicensing course of education that focuses on practical applications of real 

estate transactions. The postlicensing course: 

(a) Must not repeat the content of the course work required to meet the educational 

requirements for an original license; 

       (b) Must constitute the education required to be completed by a licensee within the first year 

immediately after initial licensing pursuant to NRS 645.575; 

       (c)  Must be offered in modules; 

       (d)  Must be provided through live instruction in which the licensee and the instructor are in 

the same room, except that first-time licensees who live in a rural area may, with the prior 

written approval of the Division, take the postlicensing course as [an interactive or televideo] a 

distance education course that involves interaction with the instructor and other students; and 

      (e) Must provide the Division with proof of completion within the first year immediately 

after initial licensing. 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-645.html#NAC645Sec695
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-645.html#NAC645Sec695
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-645.html#NRS645Sec575
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2.   The requirement for postlicensing education set forth in subsection 1 does not apply to a 

first-time licensee who complies with all requirements pursuant to NAC 645.4443 and who: 

(a) Holds a real estate license issued by another state or territory of the United States, or the 

District of Columbia, on the date on which the first-time licensee obtains a real estate license 

issued by the State of Nevada; 

(b) Held a license as a real estate broker, real estate broker-salesperson or real estate 

salesperson issued by the State of Nevada within the 5 years immediately preceding the date on 

which the first-time licensee obtained a license as a real estate salesperson; or 

(c) Is licensed as a real estate broker-salesperson and obtained the qualifications for 

licensure as a real estate broker-salesperson pursuant to the provisions of subsection 4 of NRS 

645.343. 

 3.   The postlicensing course may include material that has not previously been approved or 

allowed for continuing education credit. Courses approved for postlicensing education will not 

be accepted or approved as a course for continuing education. 

4.   The curriculum for postlicensing education must contain at least 15 modules that 

include, without limitation: 

      (a) Real estate contracts, including the writing and presenting of a purchase agreement and 

qualifying prospects; 

      (b) The listing process, market analysis and inspections; 

      (c)  Communication, technology and records management, including time management, 

goal setting and devising a plan of action; 

      (d) Buyer representation, including the buyer’s brokerage contract, fiduciary duties, 

disclosures, cooperation between agents and new-home tracts; 

       (e)  Professional conduct, etiquette and ethics; 

      (f) Advertising, including Regulation Z of the Truth in Lending Act of the Federal Trade 

Commission issued by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, 12 C.F.R. Part 

226, fair housing, the multiple-listing service, Internet websites and electronic mail; 

      (g)  Proceeds of sale, costs of sale and cost sheets; 

      (h) Agency relationships; 

      (i) Land; 

      (j) Regulatory disclosures, including disclosures required by federal, state and local 

governments; 

      (k) Property management; [and the management of common-interest communities;] 

      (l)  Escrow, title and closing processes; 

      (m) Financing; 

      (n) Negotiation; and 

      (o)  Tax opportunities and liabilities related to the client. 

     5.   [Each first-time licensee must complete an additional 12 hours of continuing education 

within the first 2 years immediately after initial licensing. The additional 12 hours of continuing 

education: 

Discussion 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-645.html#NRS645Sec343
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-645.html#NRS645Sec343
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      (a)  Must include 3 hours in each of the following areas: 

          (1)  Agency relationships; 

          (2)  Nevada law, with an emphasis on recent statutory and regulatory changes; 

          (3)  Contracts; and 

          (4)  Ethics. 

      (b)  Must be provided through live instruction in which the licensee and the instructor are in 

the same room, except that first-time licensees who live in a rural area may, with the prior 

written approval of the Division, take the additional continuing education course as an interactive 

or televideo course that involves interaction with the instructor and other students.] 

6.  A first-time licensee who fails to comply with the requirements for postlicensing 

education set forth in this section is subject to immediate involuntary inactivation of the license 

by the Division and an administrative fine in the amount set forth in subsection 1 of NAC 

645.695. 

     [7.   As used in this section, “rural area” means any area which is more than 100 miles from 

a city in this State whose population is 40,000 or more.] 

 

Sec. 13    NAC 645.445 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

645.445   1. To renew an active license, the licensee must provide the Division with proof 

that [he or she] the licensee has met: 

(a) the requirements set forth in NAC 645.4442 for the renewal of an initial license; 

(b) the requirements set forth in NAC 645.4443 for first time license that is exempt from 

postlicensing  course of education pursuant to NAC 645.4443; or 

(c) the requirements set forth in NAC 645.448 for any renewal subsequent to the first 

renewal of an initial license. 

2. To reinstate a license which has been placed on inactive status, a person must provide the 

Division with proof that he or she has met the requirements set forth in NAC 645.448.  

3. For the purpose of compliance with this section, 50 or more minutes of actual instruction 

constitutes a clock hour. [and initial licensing refers to the first issuance of a real estate license 

of any kind in Nevada.] 

 

Sec. 14.  NAC 645.448 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

NAC 645.448 Specific requirements for renewal of license other than initial license [and for 

reinstatement of license]. For licenses renewed on or after July 1, 2015 

645.448 1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, a real estate salesperson who 

wishes to renew his or her license must successfully complete at least [48] 24 hours of 

continuing education at approved educational courses, seminars or conferences during the license 

renewal period. [Twenty-four of the hours must be completed before the end of each 2-year 

period. Each licensee must provide the Division with proof of completion before the end of each 

2-year period.] Not less than 12 of the hours in each 2-year period must be devoted to ethics, 

professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate, including: 

Discussion 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-645.html#NAC645Sec695
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-645.html#NAC645Sec695
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(a) Three hours in the area of agency relationships; 

(b) Three hours in the area of Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory and 

regulatory changes; 

(c) Three hours in the area of contracts; and 

(d) Three hours in the area of ethics. 

2. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, a real estate broker or real estate broker-

salesperson who wishes to renew his or her license must successfully complete at least [48] 24 

hours of continuing education at approved educational courses, seminars or conferences during 

the license renewal period. [Twenty-four of the hours must be completed before the end of each 

2-year period. Each licensee must provide the Division with proof of completion before the end 

of each 2-year period.] Not less than 15 of the hours in each 2-year period must be devoted to 

ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate, including: 

(a) Three hours in the area of agency relationships; 

(b) Three hours in the area of Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory and 

regulatory changes; 

(c) Three hours in the area of contracts; 

(d) Three hours in the area of ethics; and 

(e) Three hours in the area of broker management. 

3. The requirements for continuing education set forth in [subsections 1 and 2] this section do 

not apply to the renewal of a license upon the expiration of the initial license. 

4. [If a license has been placed on inactive status and the licensee wishes to have the license 

reinstated, the licensee must comply with the following requirements: 

(a) If the license was on inactive status for 1 year or less, all of which was during the period 

of the initial license, the licensee must complete the postlicensing course described in NAC 

645.4442. 

(b) If the license was on inactive status for more than 1 year but less than 2 years, any part of 

which was during the period of the initial license, the licensee must complete at approved 

educational courses, seminars or conferences: 

(1) The postlicensing course described in NAC 645.4442; and 

(2) At least 18 hours of continuing education. Not less than 12 of the hours must be 

devoted to ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate, including: 

(I) Three hours in the area of agency relationships; 

(II) Three hours in the area of Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory and 

regulatory changes; 

(III) Three hours in the area of contracts; and 

(IV) Three hours in the area of ethics. 

(c) If the license was on inactive status for 2 years or less, no part of which was during the 

period of the initial license, the licensee must complete at least 24 hours of continuing education 

at approved educational courses, seminars or conferences. Not less than 12 of the hours must be 

devoted to ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate, including: 
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(1) Three hours in the area of agency relationships; 

(2) Three hours in the area of current Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory and 

regulatory changes;  

(3) Three hours in the area of contracts; and 

(4) Three hours in the area of ethics. 

(d) If the license was on inactive status for more than 2 years, any part of which was during 

the period of the initial license, the licensee must complete at approved educational courses, 

seminars or conferences: 

(1) The postlicensing course described in NAC 645.4442; and 

(2) At least 24 hours of continuing education. Not less than 12 of the hours must be 

devoted to ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate, including: 

(I) Three hours in the area of agency relationships; 

(II) Three hours in the area of current Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory 

and regulatory changes; 

(III) Three hours in the area of contracts; and 

(IV) Three hours in the area of ethics. 

(e) If the license was on inactive status for more than 2 years, no part of which was during 

the period of the initial license, the licensee must complete at least 48 hours of continuing 

education at approved educational courses, seminars or conferences. Not less than 24 of the 

hours must be devoted to ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate, 

including: 

(1) Six hours in the area of agency relationships; 

(2) Six hours in the area of current Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory and 

regulatory changes; 

(3) Six hours in the area of contracts; and 

(4) Six hours in the area of ethics.  

5.] Not more than 3 hours [of any of the required hours] in each 2-year renewal period [set 

forth in this section] for continuing education may be taken in courses for personal development. 

[6.] 5. At least 50 percent of the total hours of required continuing education set forth in this 

section must be taken through live instruction [by a licensee.] in which the licensee and the 

instructor are in the same room, except that a licensee who lives in a rural area may, with the 

prior written approval of the Division, complete the required hours of continuing education in 

distance education courses that involve interaction with the instructor and other students. 

[7.] 6. A licensee who fails to comply with the requirements for continuing education set forth 

in this section is subject to immediate involuntary inactivation of the license by the Division and 

an administrative fine in the amount set forth in subsection 1 of NAC 645.695. 

[8. As used in this section, “initial license” means the license of a licensee who: 

(a) Did not hold a real estate license issued by another state or territory of the United States, 

or the District of Columbia, on the date on which the licensee obtained a real estate license 

issued by the State of Nevada; 
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(b) Had not held a license as a real estate broker, real estate broker-salesperson or real estate 

salesperson issued by the State of Nevada within the 5 years immediately preceding the date on 

which the licensee obtained a license as a real estate salesperson; or 

(c) Is licensed as a real estate broker-salesperson and obtained the qualifications for licensure 

as a real estate broker-salesperson pursuant to the provisions of subsection 2 of NRS 645.343.] 

 

Sec. 15.  NAC 645.448 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

NAC 645.448 Specific requirements for renewal of license other than initial license [and for 

reinstatement of license]. For licenses renewed on or before June 30, 2015 

645.448 1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, a real estate salesperson who 

wishes to renew his or her license must successfully complete at least 48 hours of continuing 

education at approved educational courses, seminars or conferences during the license renewal 

period. Twenty-four of the hours must be completed before the end of each 2-year period. Each 

licensee must provide the Division with proof of completion before the end of each 2-year 

period. Not less than 12 of the hours in each 2-year period must be devoted to ethics, 

professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate, including: 

(a) Three hours in the area of agency relationships; 

(b) Three hours in the area of Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory and 

regulatory changes; 

(c) Three hours in the area of contracts; and 

(d) Three hours in the area of ethics. 

2. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, a real estate broker or real estate broker-

salesperson who wishes to renew his or her license must successfully complete at least 48 hours 

of continuing education at approved educational courses, seminars or conferences during the 

license renewal period. Twenty-four of the hours must be completed before the end of each 2-

year period. Each licensee must provide the Division with proof of completion before the end of 

each 2-year period. Not less than 15 of the hours in each 2-year period must be devoted to ethics, 

professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate, including: 

(a) Three hours in the area of agency relationships; 

(b) Three hours in the area of Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory and 

regulatory changes; 

(c) Three hours in the area of contracts; 

(d) Three hours in the area of ethics; and 

(e) Three hours in the area of broker management. 

3. The requirements for continuing education set forth in [subsections 1 and 2] this section do 

not apply to the renewal of a license upon the expiration of the initial license. 

4. [If a license has been placed on inactive status and the licensee wishes to have the license 

reinstated, the licensee must comply with the following requirements: 

(a) If the license was on inactive status for 1 year or less, all of which was during the period 

of the initial license, the licensee must complete the postlicensing course described in NAC 



POSSIBLE REGULATION CHANGE TO NAC 645 

13 
 

645.4442. 

(b) If the license was on inactive status for more than 1 year but less than 2 years, any part of 

which was during the period of the initial license, the licensee must complete at approved 

educational courses, seminars or conferences: 

(1) The postlicensing course described in NAC 645.4442; and 

(2) At least 18 hours of continuing education. Not less than 12 of the hours must be 

devoted to ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate, including: 

(I) Three hours in the area of agency relationships; 

(II) Three hours in the area of Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory and 

regulatory changes; 

(III) Three hours in the area of contracts; and 

(IV) Three hours in the area of ethics. 

(c) If the license was on inactive status for 2 years or less, no part of which was during the 

period of the initial license, the licensee must complete at least 24 hours of continuing education 

at approved educational courses, seminars or conferences. Not less than 12 of the hours must be 

devoted to ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate, including: 

(1) Three hours in the area of agency relationships; 

(2) Three hours in the area of current Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory and 

regulatory changes;  

(3) Three hours in the area of contracts; and 

(4) Three hours in the area of ethics. 

(d) If the license was on inactive status for more than 2 years, any part of which was during 

the period of the initial license, the licensee must complete at approved educational courses, 

seminars or conferences: 

(1) The postlicensing course described in NAC 645.4442; and 

(2) At least 24 hours of continuing education. Not less than 12 of the hours must be 

devoted to ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate, including: 

(I) Three hours in the area of agency relationships; 

(II) Three hours in the area of current Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory 

and regulatory changes; 

(III) Three hours in the area of contracts; and 

(IV) Three hours in the area of ethics. 

(e) If the license was on inactive status for more than 2 years, no part of which was during 

the period of the initial license, the licensee must complete at least 48 hours of continuing 

education at approved educational courses, seminars or conferences. Not less than 24 of the 

hours must be devoted to ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate, 

including: 

(1) Six hours in the area of agency relationships; 

(2) Six hours in the area of current Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory and 

regulatory changes; 
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(3) Six hours in the area of contracts; and 

(4) Six hours in the area of ethics.  

5.] Not more than 3 hours [of any of the required hours] in each 2-year renewal period [set 

forth in this section] for continuing education may be taken in courses for personal development. 

[6.] 5. At least 50 percent of the total hours of required continuing education set forth in this 

section must be taken through live instruction [by a licensee.] in which the licensee and the 

instructor are in the same room, except that a licensee who lives in a rural area may, with the 

prior written approval of the Division, complete the required hours of continuing education in 

distance education courses that involve interaction with the instructor and other students. 

[7.] 6.  A licensee who fails to comply with the requirements for continuing education set 

forth in this section is subject to immediate involuntary inactivation of the license by the 

Division and an administrative fine in the amount set forth in subsection 1 of NAC 645.695. 

[8. As used in this section, “initial license” means the license of a licensee who: 

(a) Did not hold a real estate license issued by another state or territory of the United States, 

or the District of Columbia, on the date on which the licensee obtained a real estate license 

issued by the State of Nevada; 

(b) Had not held a license as a real estate broker, real estate broker-salesperson or real estate 

salesperson issued by the State of Nevada within the 5 years immediately preceding the date on 

which the licensee obtained a license as a real estate salesperson; or 

(c) Is licensed as a real estate broker-salesperson and obtained the qualifications for licensure 

as a real estate broker-salesperson pursuant to the provisions of subsection 2 of NRS 645.343.] 

 

Sec. 17.    NAC 645.467 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

645.467   1.  The Commission will grant credit for continuing education, not to exceed 6 hours 

during a licensing period, to a licensee for attending a meeting of the Commission if: 

(a) The meeting of the Commission for which credit for continuing education is being 

sought is not a hearing in which the licensee is participating as the result of a disciplinary action; 

(b) The meeting of the Commission for which credit for continuing education is being 

sought lasts at least [3 hours] 1 hour; and 

(c) The Commission certifies, for the purposes of providing credit for continuing education, 

the attendance of the licensee at the meeting. 

2.  If a licensee attends only part of a meeting of the Commission, the Division may 

determine the number of hours of credit, if any, that the licensee may receive for credit for 

continuing education pursuant to this section. 

 

Sec. 18.    NAC 645.800 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

645.800  1.   A person who wishes to obtain a permit to engage in property management must 

submit to the Division: 

(a) A completed application on a form prescribed by the Division; 

(b) A fee of $40; and 
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(c) A certificate of completion, in a form that is satisfactory to the Division, that indicates the 

person’s successful completion of the 24 classroom hours of instruction in property management 

required by paragraph (a) of subsection 2 of NRS 645.6052. 

2. The 24 classroom hours of instruction in property management required pursuant to 

paragraph (a) of subsection 2 of NRS 645.6052 must include, without limitation: 

(a) Four hours of instruction relating to: 

(1) Contracts for management services; 

(2) Leases of real property; 

(3) Applications to rent real property; 

(4) The Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1681 et seq.; and 

(5) The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1692 [to 1692o, inclusive;] et 

seq.; 

(b) Two hours of instruction relating to the maintenance of records of money deposited in 

trust accounts and the requirements for reporting to the Division set forth in chapter 645 of NRS; 

(c) One hour of instruction relating to the use of a computerized system for bookkeeping; 

(d) Two hours of instruction relating to the laws of this State governing property 

management; 

(e) Two hours of instruction relating to the disclosure of required information in real estate 

transactions, including, without limitation: 

(1) Disclosures required pursuant to NRS 645.252; and 

(2) Disclosures related to environmental issues as governed by state and federal law; 

(f) Five hours of instruction relating to: 

(1) The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. §§ 12101 et seq.; 

(2) The Residential Landlord and Tenant Act as set forth in chapter 118A of NRS; 

(3) The Nevada Fair Housing Law as set forth in chapter 118 of NRS; and 

(4) State and federal law governing unlawful discrimination based on sex, including, 

without limitation, sexual harassment; 

[(g) Three hours of instruction relating to property management for a common-interest 

community as set forth in chapter 116 of NRS;] 

(h) One hour of instruction relating to the duties and responsibilities of a real estate broker, 

including the supervision of employees and real estate salespersons and real estate broker-

salespersons associated with the real estate broker; 

(i) Two hours of instruction relating to risk management, including, without limitation: 

(1) The maintenance of real property; 

(2) The health and safety of a tenant; 

(3) Fire insurance; 

(4) Rental insurance; and 

(5) Disability insurance; and 

(j) Two hours relating to the management of commercial property. 

3. The Division may accept a course in property management from a nationally recognized 

 

Discussion 
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or accredited organization to fulfill the requirements set forth in paragraphs (a), (b), (c), (h), (i) 

and (j) of subsection 2, if the successful completion of that course would qualify the applicant to 

engage in property management pursuant to the requirements of that organization. 

4. The applicant must successfully complete the hours of instruction set forth in paragraphs 

[(d), (e), (f) and] (d) through (g), inclusive, of subsection 2 at an accredited educational 

institution in this State. 

5. A permit to engage in property management initially issued by the Division is effective on 

the date the application for the permit is submitted to the Division or the date on which the fee 

for the permit is paid, whichever occurs later. 

6. As used in this section and paragraph (a) of subsection 2 of NRS 645.6052, the 

Commission will interpret the term “successfully completed” or “successful completion” to 

include, without limitation, passing an examination which is prepared and administered by an 

organization designated by the Division, with a score of at least 75 percent that: 

(a) Includes the subject matter presented in the hours of instruction required pursuant to 

subsection 2; and 

(b) Consists of at least 50 multiple-choice questions. 

 The fee for the examination is $75. 

 

Sec. 18.   NAC 645.802 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

NAC 645.802 Permit to engage in property management: Requirements and fees for 

renewal:  effective date of renewal; date of expiration.  For licenses renewed on or before 

June 30, 2015 

645.802 1. The Division may renew a permit to engage in property management if the holder 

of the permit submits to the Division: 

(a) A request for the renewal of the permit with the holder’s application to renew his or her 

license as a real estate broker, real estate broker-salesperson or real estate salesperson; 

(b) A renewal fee of $40; and 

(c) Documentation of his or her successful completion of [the requirements for continuing 

education required by paragraph (a) of subsection 4 of NRS 645.6052. 

2. The hours of continuing education used to fulfill the requirements set forth in paragraph 

(c) of subsection 1 must include: 

(a) Instruction relating to any amendments to the laws of this State governing property 

management; and 

(b) If the holder of the permit is a manager of a common-interest community pursuant to 

chapters 116 and 116A of NAC, 3 hours of instruction relating to the laws of this State that are 

applicable to the responsibilities and duties involved in the management of a common-interest 

community. 

3.] 6 hours of approved courses in property management, with 3 of those hours completed 

within the 2 years immediately preceding the date of expiration. 

2. The renewal of a permit is effective on the date on which the application for renewal of a 
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license is submitted to the Division or on the date on which the renewal fees for the license and 

the permit are paid, whichever occurs later. 

[4.] 3. A permit expires on the same date as the holder’s license expires. 

 

Sec. 19.   NAC 645.802 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

NAC 645.802 Permit to engage in property management: Requirements and fees for 

renewal:  effective date of renewal; date of expiration.  For licenses renewed on or after July 

1, 2015 

645.802 1. The Division may renew a permit to engage in property management if the holder 

of the permit submits to the Division: 

(a) A request for the renewal of the permit with the holder’s application to renew his or her 

license as a real estate broker, real estate broker-salesperson or real estate salesperson; 

(b) A renewal fee of $40; and 

(c) Documentation of his or her successful completion of [the requirements for continuing 

education required by paragraph (a) of subsection 4 of NRS 645.6052. 

2. The hours of continuing education used to fulfill the requirements set forth in paragraph 

(c) of subsection 1 must include: 

(a) Instruction relating to any amendments to the laws of this State governing property 

management; and 

(b) If the holder of the permit is a manager of a common-interest community pursuant to 

chapters 116 and 116A of NAC, 3 hours of instruction relating to the laws of this State that are 

applicable to the responsibilities and duties involved in the management of a common-interest 

community. 

3.] 3 hours of approved courses in property management. 

2. The renewal of a permit is effective on the date on which the application for renewal of a 

license is submitted to the Division or on the date on which the renewal fees for the license and 

the permit are paid, whichever occurs later. 

[4.] 3. A permit expires on the same date as the holder’s license expires. 

 

Sec. 20.    NAC 645.915 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

NAC 645.915 Expiration date, requirements and fee for renewal. For licenses renewed on or 

before June 30, 2015 

645.915 1. A permit expires on the same date as the license of the holder of the permit 

expires. 

2. The Division may renew a permit if the holder of the permit submits to the Division: 

(a) A request for the renewal of the permit with the application to renew his or her license; 

(b) A renewal fee of $40; and 

(c) Documentation indicating that the holder of the permit has successfully completed [the 

continuing education required by paragraph (a) of subsection 4 of NRS 645.863.] 6 hours of 
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approved courses in doing business as a business broker, with 3 of those hours completed 

within the 2 years immediately preceding the date of the request for renewal. 

 

Sec. 21.    NAC 645.915 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

NAC 645.915 Expiration date, requirements and fee for renewal. For licenses renewed on or 

after July 1, 2015 

645.915 1. A permit expires on the same date as the license of the holder of the permit 

expires. 

2. The Division may renew a permit if the holder of the permit submits to the Division: 

(a) A request for the renewal of the permit with the application to renew his or her license; 

(b) A renewal fee of $40; and 

(c) Documentation indicating that the holder of the permit has successfully completed [the 

continuing education required by paragraph (a) of subsection 4 of NRS 645.863.] 3 hours of 

approved courses in doing business as a business broker. 

 

 

Sec. 22.  NAC 645.120 and 645.799 are hereby repealed. 

 

 

TEXT OF REPEALED SECTIONS 

645.120   Financial condition of applicant for license as real estate broker. (NRS 

645.190, 645.400) 

     1. Before a person who wishes to apply for a license as a real estate broker submits an 

application for the license pursuant to NRS 645.350, the Division shall consider the financial 

condition of the person and require the person to submit to the Division the following financial 

information: 

       (a) The person’s current employer and the employer’s address; 

       (b) The person’s checking accounts with amounts; 

       (c) The person’s savings accounts with amounts; and 

       (d) Such other information concerning the person’s finances as the Division deems pertinent. 

  2. A person may not apply for a license as a real estate broker unless the person has 

submitted to the Division the information required by this section and the Division has approved 

the financial condition of the person. 

 

645.799 Applicability of certain provisions regarding management of common-interest 

communities. (NRS 645.050, 645.190) A person who holds a permit and engages in the 

management of a common-interest community is subject to the provisions of chapter 116 of NRS 

and chapters 116 and 116A of NAC relating to managers of common-interest communities. 

 

 


