
“Effective July 1, 2011, all licensing 
transactions will be handled in the 

Las Vegas office.” 

Nevada Real 
Estate Division 

contact us at: 

702-486-4033 

Listen carefully 

and select the 
correct  Division 

section. 

The Mission 
of the 

Real Estate Division 
Education Fund: 
To ensure awareness of 

relevant laws and practices by 
all licensees through proactive 

education and information 
efforts. 

Inside this issue: 

W ith closing of the 2012-2013 
Executive Budget in the most 
recent legislative session, many 

state agencies are changing the way their 
services are delivered to the public.  The 
Nevada Real Estate Division is 
implementing changes to streamline 
activities to minimize expenses while still 
striving to provide the best service 
possible. 
 
Licensing 
First, the Division is consolidating all 
licensing functions in the Las Vegas office 
because the bulk of our licensee base is 
located in the Vegas Valley.  Effective  
July 1, all licensing transactions will be 
handled in the Las Vegas office.  Licenses 
may be renewed online through the 
Division’s robust license renewals 
webpage, which can be assessed by visiting 
www.red.state.nv.us and clicking on 
“online renewals.” 

 

 

 

 

Compliance 
Second, compliance investigators in the 
Carson City office will be available by 
appointment only as of July 1.  With a 
phone call, constituents can arrange to 
meet with an investigator at their mutual 
convenience, eliminating the possible wait 

times or lack of availability associated with 
walk-in appointments.  Appointments can 
be scheduled by calling (775) 687-4280 and 
the appropriate extension: Extension 300 for 
Appraisal issues, Extension 304 for Real 
Estate issues, and Extension 311 for issues 
related to Common Interest Communities 
(HOAs).   

Projects 
Third, the Projects section, which handles 
subdivided land, will begin a 3-day work 
week on July 1. Using the U.S. Mail or an 
expedited delivery service to submit 
applications and renewals will promote 
timely processing. “We are working 
diligently to condense our business 
operations in a way that’s efficient and 
productive for our licensees,” said Gail J. 
Anderson, Administrator of the Real Estate 
Division.  “Because of the state’s fiscal 
challenges, we are restructuring our 
services to make the best use of our  
resources.  We will continue to strive for 
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Renewal Term Doubled  
for Real Estate Licensees 

license.  The education requirements are 
by regulation and are not affected by the 
statutory change in the licensing term.  
The Real Estate Commission will hold 
discussion at their July meeting in 

Carson City concerning 
whether to proceed on 
proposed changes to post- 
licensing and continuing 
education requirements that 
had initially been proposed 
in LCB File #099-09.  That 
proposed regulation process 
has not been completed.   

The Property Management 
Permit and the Business 
Broker Permit are both 
permits that coincide with 

the expiration term of the real estate 
license.  The permit fees are by 
regulation.  Until a change has been 
made by regulation, the permit fee will 
remain $40. ◄ 
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NRED changes… 
(continued from page 1) 

FROM THE ADMINISTRATOR’S DESK 

J u l y  1 ,  2 0 1 1 ,  w a s  t h e 
implementation date which 
doubled the licensing terms in 

NRS 645 for original/first time and 
renewing real estate licenses for brokers, 
broker-salesmen, and 
salesmen.  For licenses 
issued and renewed July 
1st and thereafter, the 
expiration of an original 
(first) license issued to a 
broker, broker-salesman 
or salesman changes from 
12 to 24 consecutive 
months, and the renewal 
thereafter changes from 24 
to 48 consecutive months.  
The license issued will 
reflect the change on the 
expiration date of the license. 

At this time, there are no changes to the 
education requirements for renewing a 

Gail J. Anderson, Administrator 

Broker First to Renew Under   
4-Year Licensing Program 

Dario R. Franceschi, JD 
”The renewal process went 
smoothly. I especially liked 
learning of the new 4-year 
renewal period. " 

efficiencies and to encourage the use of 
online processing by our licensees.”    

For those calling the Division’s Las 
V e g a s  o f f i c e  m a i n l i n e — 
(702) 486-4033—please listen to the 
options and select the correct section 
option.  If you get voicemail, leave a 
message, which will be retrieved, and 
you will get a return call. Please utilize 
t h e  D i v i s i o n ’ s  w e b  s i t e  a t 
www.red.state.nv.us for information 
and forms. ◄ 

Nevada 
Law & Reference Guide 

FREE 
Available FREE on a first-come basis: 

The last 30 printed copies of the 
Nevada Law and Reference Guide may 

be obtained, one per licensee, from 
Suite 101 at NRED’s Las Vegas office.  
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These disclosure revisions and other 
legislative amendments will be 
discussed in greater depth and details 
in the Division’s Law and Legislative 
update course, What Every Licensee 
Should Know 2012.  The course will 
be available in the coming months.◄ 

By Safia Anwari, Education Information Officer 

covenant in a deed, usually by a 
private developer or another private 
party, and should not be confused 
with “a reasonable fee to cover the 
cost of recording it in the books and 
the records of the [homeowners’] 
association for the transfer of the 
ownership of the unit” (see comments 
of Assemblywoman Irene Bustamant-
Adams in Minutes of the Senate 
Committee on Judiciary, April 28, 
2011). 

HOA Resale Packages 
The resale package, under Chapter 
116, has also been revised requiring a 
homeowner’s association to include a 
statement listing all the fees, including 
management fees, transfer fees, fines, 
penalties, interest, collection costs, 
foreclosure fees, and attorney’s fees 
that are due from the seller.  The 
statement will be effective for 15 days 
from the date of delivery to the unit’s 
owner or his/her agent. 

I n its 2011 session, the legislature 
passed three amendments to 

disclosures in residential transactions. 

Chapter 113 Disclosures 
Under Chapter 113, the seller’s duty 
to provide an energy consumption 
evaluation was repealed, while  
AB271 introduced a requirement to 
disclose private transfer fee (PTF) 
obligations.  The seller of a property 
that is subject to a PTF must now 
provide a written disclosure of the fee.  
The language of the disclosure 
statement is provided in Section 14 of 
the bill.  Private transfer fee is defined 
in Section 5 of the bill and refers to a 
fee or charge payable upon each 
transfer of an interest in, or resale of, 
the property.  The person or entity 
receiving the PTF is not the seller or 
broker, and the fee in question is not 
any interest, charge or fee payable to 
a lender to secure financing.  The PTF 
is attached to the property by 

Legislature Amends Disclosure Requirements 
Amendments passed under Chapters 113 and 116 

Judgment Claims Paid from ERRF 

I n March 2011 a judgment claim in the amount of $17,565 was approved by Administrator Gail J. Anderson for 
payment to Joseph Chong from the Real Estate Education, Research and Recovery Fund.  The claim from Chong 

was for recovery of unpaid damages awarded by the District Court against licensee Charles M. Steiner, who 
misappropriated rent monies while acting as Chong’s property manager. 

A separate claim for $22,500 by Keith Weinbaum was approved in June 2011 for a District Court judgment against 
Sharon Wilson.  The licenses of Steiner and Wilson have been revoked without legal recourse either to appeal against 
the revocation, or for reinstatement or issuance of a new license until each has recompensed the Fund in full. 

 In cases of fraud, misrepresentation or deceit, the law permits recovery of final court judgments against real estate 
agents of up to $25,000 per judgment, with the liability per licensee not to exceed $100,000.  Claims by petition from 
the judgment-rendering court may be made to the Administrator, and claimant must show that all reasonable efforts to 
obtain payment from the judgment debtor have been exhausted without success.  Only awarded damages are 
recoverable; the costs and expenses of litigation cannot be claimed from the Fund. 

- Safia Anwari 

If you are renewing online, 
be sure to enter  your course 
information according to the 
online instructions. If the 
information submitted is 

incorrect or incomplete, your license will 
be involuntarily inactivated.  

Licensees are encouraged to visit the 
online lookup section of the Division’s 
website approximately 2 days following 
an online renewal to check the status of 
their license  

Always keep your CE certificates on 
hand!  In the event of an audit, you will 
be required to present your certificates to 
the Division. 

EDUCATION AUDITS OF 
ONLINE RENEWALS 
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Disciplinary Actions/Stipulations 

ACTIONS/DECISIONS 

Real Estate Commission actions are not published in this newsletter until the 30-day period allowed for filing for Judicial Review has passed.  
If a stay on discipline is issued by the Court, the matter is not published until final outcome of the Review.  A Respondent’s license is 
automatically suspended for failure to comply with a Commission Order, and the Division may institute debt collection proceedings to recover 
fines and costs.  We do not publish names of persons whose license applications are denied. 

ALLEGATIONS/STIPULATIONS 

Stipulations occur when both the Respondent and Division have agreed to conditions reviewed and accepted by both sides.  A stipulation may or 
may not be an admission of guilt.  Stipulations are presented to the Commission for review and acceptance. 

Name 
Hearing Date/ 
Type 

Violation or Stipulation 
Fines/ 
Education/ 
Other Action 

BRETT 
ATWOOD 

BS.0056267 
(Inactive) 

Nov 2010 

Action  
(Pursuant to  
Failure to Appear) 

As seller’s agent, received payment from client for painting the 
property, and purchasing and installing appliances prior to listing 
the property but failed to: 

get the work done; and 

account for, or remit, the monies received to the client. 

Also, failed to respond to client’s requests for: 

status update regarding the property listing; 

 receipts for the painting and appliances; and  

 return of the keys to the property 

$13,000  

License suspension 
for failure to timely 
pay fine within 30 
days. 

SCOTT 
BEAUDRY 

B.0029242 

Nov 2010 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

As seller’s agent, misrepresented the sales price of the property by 
adding seller credit for upgrades to the purchase price named on 
the agreement to purchase. 

$5,000 

WELSK (6 hours) 
Broker Management  
(3 hours) 

IDDO 
GAVISH 

B.00508043 

Nov 2010 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

As listing agent, misrepresented the sales price of the property by 
inflating the purchase price to include a seller credit which, by 
addendum, was paid from escrow to a third party.   

$7,000 

WELSK (6 hours) 
Ethics (3 hours)
Contracts (3 hours) 

STAN R. 
HICKS 

BS.0033177 

Nov 2010 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

 

Made a material misrepresentation by inflating the list price in the 
MLS and the sale price in the purchase agreement to include a 
commission bonus to the buyer’s agent, who was also a purchaser 
in the transaction. 

$10,000 

WELSK (6 hours) 
Ethics (6 hours)
Broker Management 
(3 hours) 

ANDREA 
PORTENTE 

Unlicensed 

 

Nov 2010 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

Engaged in unlicensed property management activities, and 
continued to manage residential rental property, for compensation 
or with expectation of compensation, even after the 
Administrator’s Cease and Desist Order had been issued and 
delivered. 

$1,500 
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Disciplinary Actions/Stipulations 

Name 
Hearing Date/ 
Type 

Violation or Stipulation 
Fines/ 
Education/ 
Other Action 

SANDI 
RANDLE 

B.0016180 

Nov 2010 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

 Failed in her supervision of agent who represented both 
seller and buyer (who was also agent’s wife) but did not get 
the Duties Owed and Consent to Act forms, and the 
Residential Disclosure Guide signed by the buyer; 

 Attempted to conceal documents from the Division by 
initially providing transaction file with disclosures not 
signed by buyer and subsequently submitting the same 
disclosures with buyer’s signature; 

 Demonstrated ineffective office policy on supervision of 
licensees when informing the Division that she did not feel 
the agent had done anything wrong regarding the disclosure 
issues and, with regard to her management and control of 
licensee’s transactions, responded that an “in-house escrow 
coordinator administers the files and processes them.”  

$1,500 

Contracts (3 hours) 
Broker 
Management (3 
hours) 

KATHLEEN 
TINAGLIA 

Revoked 

Nov 2010 

Action 

(Pursuant to  
Failure to Appear) 

 As buyer’s agent, inflated purchase price in the purchase 
agreement by adding to it a seller credit that, by contract 
addendum, was paid from escrow to a 3rd party; 

 Failed to respond to Division’s requests for information 
during its investigation and failed to appear for hearing.  

$215,000 

License revoked 

GERRI 
WADKINS 

S.0050095 

Nov 2010 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

While acting as seller’s agent, inflated sales price, which 
included a post-contract addendum entered into by seller and 
buyer to pay a property upgrade credit to an entity that was not a 
principal to the transaction. 

$6,000 

WELSK (6 hours)
Ethics (6 hours)
Contracts (3 hours) 

ZARBOD 
ZANGANEH 

(S.0062766) 

Nov 2010 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

On more than one occasion, while associating with one licensed 
broker, licensee represented himself in transactions as working 
under a broker with whom he was no longer associated. 

$2,500 

WELSK (6 hours) 

MICHAEL 
BRELSFORD 

B.0020466 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

In connection with the Division’s investigation regarding a 
residential property transaction conducted by a salesperson 
under respondent-broker’s license, broker failed to respond to 
Division requests for documents and information. 

$2,500 

Broker 
Management (6 
hours) 

KATHRYN 
CAMPBELL 

S.0055817 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

Inflated sales price in purchase agreement and increased original 
list price in MLS to include a payment from escrow to a 3rd 
party. 

$6,000 

WELSK (6 hours)
Ethics (6 hours) 
Contracts (3 hours) 
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Disciplinary Actions/Stipulations 

Name 
Hearing Date/ 
Type 

Violation or Stipulation 
Fines/ 
Education/ 
Other Action 

DARREN 
EDELMANN 

S.0056778 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

As seller’s agent, misrepresented sales price in the purchase 
agreement to include a payment from escrow to a 3rd party. 

$5,000.04 

WELSK (6 hours)
Ethics (3 hours) 

JOHN C 
HALEY 

Expired 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

While representing seller, misrepresented sales price by 
including a payment directly out of escrow  to a 3rd party. 

$3,000 

JANET 
LEEDHAM 

S.007439 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

Misrepresented the sales price, while acting as seller’s agent, to 
include a payment out of escrow to an investment company that 
was not a principal in the transaction. 

$6,500.04 

WELSK (6 hours) 
Ethics (6 hours) 
Contracts (3 hours) 

VICTORIA 
MARION 

S.0049978 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

Without a property management permit, upon close of escrow 
of residential income properties for buyer clients, respondent: 

engaged in property management activities; 

 issued a check on an account with insufficient funds; 

withheld partial rent for pool repairs that were not made 
and that owners had not authorized; 

withheld balance of rent from owners informing them that 
the amount would be paid at a later date; 

 failed to account for rent monies when requested by 
owners. 

$5,004 

WELSK (6 hours) 
Ethics (6 hours) 
Contracts (3 hours) 

ERWIN 
MESSINGER 

S.0048494 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

As listing agent, misrepresented sales price in purchase 
agreement to include a payment out of escrow to a 3rd party. 

$5,000 

WELSK (6 hours) 
Ethics (6 hours) 
Contracts (3 hours) 

MELVIN 
OSHIRO 

B.0017848 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

As seller’s agent, misrepresented the sales price by including 
sellers credit for modifications and upgrades to the purchase 
price of the property. 

$7,000.08 

WELSK (6 hours) 
Ethics (6 hours) 
Contracts (3 hours) 

WILLIAM 
PLUMMER 

S.0032805 

Jan 2011 

Action 

While representing seller, inflated sales price in the purchase 
agreement to include a credit out of escrow to a 3rd party. 

$5,000 

WELSK (6 hours) 
Ethics (6 hours) 
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Disciplinary Actions/Stipulations 

Name 
Hearing Date/ 
Type 

Violation or Stipulation 
Fines/ 
Education/ 
Other Action 

MARK 
POTTER 

Expired 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

While acting for seller, inflated sales price in the purchase 
agreement to include a payment direct from escrow to a 3rd 
party and entered the inflated amount as the pending sales price 
in MLS. 

$7,000.08 

JUSTINE 
RIES 

S.0040924 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

As listing agent, misrepresented the sales price in the purchase 
agreement and later in the MLS to include payment from escrow 
to a 3rd party. 

$6,000 

WELSK (6 hours) 
Ethics (6 hours) 
Contracts (6 hours) 

STUART 
SHEINFELD 

S.0070222 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

While acting as seller’s agent, misrepresented the sales price of 
the property to include a payment from escrow to a 3rd party. 

$5,000 

WELSK (6 hours) 
Ethics (6 hours) 
Contracts (3 hours) 

PATRICIA 
SNOW 

S.0040442 

PM.0163201 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

Engaged in property management activities prior to obtaining a 
permit. 

$2,500 

WELSK (6 hours) 

KRISTA 
SWANSON 

S.0051396 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

As seller’s agent, misrepresented purchase price to include a 
payment out of escrow to a 3rd party. 

$5,000.04 

WELSK (6 hours) 
Ethics (6 hours) 
Contracts (3 hours) 

SHAMILE 
TOUCHE 

(S.0061737) 

B.1000484 

Jan 2011 

Stipulated 
Settlement 

As listing agent of her broker’s residential property: 

misrepresented sales price to include a payment from escrow 
to a 3rd party; 

entered the inflated sales price in the MLS; 

disclosed the seller’s licensee status after buyer and seller 
had entered into a contract. 

$16,000.16 

WELSK (6 hours) 
Ethics (6 hours) 
Contracts (3 hours) 

By the end of June 2011, the 
following number of real estate 
licenses had expired:  

Don’t Forget! 
Brokers: 245 

Broker-Salespersons: 520 

Salespersons: 3129 

A real estate license must be  
renewed within one year of its expiration date or it 

will be permanently closed.  

To check the status of a license, visit 
www.red.state.nv.us and click on  

License Lookup.  
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Real Estate Statistics as of June 2011 

3826 

State of Nevada 

Department of Business & Industry 

Real Estate Division 

2501 E. Sahara Avenue, Suite 101 

Las Vegas, NV  89104-4137 

PRSRT STD 

U.S. POSTAGE 

PAID 

Carson City, NV 89701 

PERMIT #15 

  BROKER BROKER SALESPERSON SALESPERSON 

Active Inactive Active Inactive Active Inactive Active Inactive 
Unknown 46 49 49 57 316 129 411 235 
Carson City 43 27 40 20 143 38 226 85 
Churchill 11 9 8 1 38 17 57 27 
Clark 1718 470 2135 505 11458 2302 15311 3277 
Douglas 78 17 81 23 277 50 436 90 
Elko 22 6 19 9 56 8 97 23 
Esmeralda 0 0 1 0 1 0 2 0 
Eureka 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 1 
Humboldt 4 4 5 3 19 1 28 8 
Lander 1 2 1 0 4 1 6 3 
Lincoln 1 0 1 0 3 1 5 1 
Lyon 32 11 21 10 100 26 153 47 
Mineral 1 0 0 1 3 1 4 2 
Nye 41 8 30 11 117 35 188 54 
Out Of State 268 33 212 65 391 203 871 301 
Pershing 2 0 0 0 2 0 4 0 
Storey 1 0 2 0 8 2 11 2 
Washoe 395 204 418 130 1761 365 2574 699 
White Pine 2 0 2 2 6 4 10 6 
Total 2667 841 3025 837 14703 3183 20395 4861 

Total   


