R157-08

REVISION FROM 2/16/12 R093-10 ADOPTION-Page 5

REVISIONS FROM 9/21/11 r093-10 WORKSHOP

Sec. 1. NAC 645.445 is hereby amended to read as follows:

645.445 1. To renew an active license, the licensee must provide the Division with
proof that he has met the requirements set forth in {paragraph{a)ofsubsection 1 of NRS
6455754 NAC 645.448.

2. To reinstate a license which has been placed on inactive status, a person must

provide the Division with proof that he has met the requirements set forth in {paragraph{b)ref

subseetion+-of NRS-645.575.} NAC 645.448.

3. For the purpose of compliance with this section, 50 or more minutes of actual
instruction constitutes a clock hour and initial licensing refers to the first issuance of a real estate

license of any kind in Nevada.

Sec. 2. NAC 645.448 is hereby amended to read as follows:
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645.448 1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, a real estate [salesman]
salesperson who wishes to renew his license must complete at least {24} 48 hours of continuing

education at approved educational courses, seminars or conferences during the license renewal

period . Herthe-license} Twenty-four of the hours must be completed before the end of each 2-

year period. Each licensee must provide the Division with |a-copy-of the-eertifieate| proof of
completion before the end of each 2-year period. Not less than 12 of the hours in each 2-year

period must be devoted to ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate,
including:

(a) Three hours in the area of agency relationships;

(b) Three hours in the area of Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory and
regulatory changes;

(c) Three hours in the area of contracts; and

(d) Three hours in the area of ethics.

2. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, a real estate broker or real estate broker-
|salesman| salesperson who wishes to renew his license must complete at least {24} 48 hours of
continuing education at approved educational courses, seminars or conferences during the license
renewal period . Horthe-license} Twenty-four of the hours must be completed before the end
of each 2-year period. Each licensee must provide the Division with |a-copy-of the-certifieate)
proof of completion before the end of each 2-year period. Not less than 15 of the hours in each
2-year period must be devoted to ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate,
including:

(a) Three hours in the area of agency relationships;
(b) Three hours in the area of Nevada law with an emphasis on recent statutory and
regulatory changes;

(¢) Three hours in the area of contracts;
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(d) Three hours in the area of ethics; and

(e) Three hours in the area of broker management.

3. The requirements for continuing education set forth in subsections 1 and 2 do not
apply to the renewal of a license upon the expiration of the initial license.

4. Ifalicense has been placed on inactive status and the licensee wishes to have the

license reinstated, the licensee must comply with the following requirements:

(a) If the license was on inactive status [for-1-year-orless; N during the

period of the initial license, the licensee must complete the {30-hous} | NN
(| SRR s cribed in NAC 645, ([N .
(b1 The education must have been completed within two years of reinstatemen
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(c) If the license was on inactive status for 2 years or less, no part of which was during
the period of the initial license, the licensee must complete at least 24 hours of continuing
education at approved educational courses, seminars or conferences. Not less than 12 of the
hours must be devoted to ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate,
including:

(1) Three hours in the area of agency relationships;

(2) Three hours in the area of current Nevada law with an emphasis on recent
statutory and regulatory changes;

(3) Three hours in the area of contracts; and

(4) Three hours in the area of ethics.

(d) If the license was on inactive status for more than 2 years, any part of which was

during the period of the initial license, the licensee must complete TN
BHEGEHE: Fppileeichioslima demtarrvisoaiirenend

(1) The {36-hous} postlicensing course described in NAC 645.4442; and
(2) At least 24 hours of continuing education. Not less than 12 of the hours must
be devoted to ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate, including:
(I) Three hours in the area of agency relationships;
(I) Three hours in the area of current Nevada law with an emphasis on
recent statutory and regulatory changes;
(IIT) Three hours in the area of contracts; and
(IV) Three hours in the area of ethics.
(e) If the license was on inactive status for more than 2 years, no part of which was

during the period of the initial license, the licensee must complete at least 48 hours of continuing
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education at approved educational courses, seminars or conferences. Not less than 42} 24 of the
hours must be devoted to ethics, professional conduct or the legal aspects of real estate,
including:

(1) {+hree} Six hours in the area of agency relationships;

(2) {Fhree} Six hours in the area of current Nevada law with an emphasis on
recent statutory and regulatory changes:;

(3) {hree} Six hours in the area of contracts; and

(4) {Fhree} Six hours in the area of ethics.

5. Not more than 3 hours of any of the required hours in each 2-year period set forth in

this section for continuing education may be taken in courses for personal development.

6. As used in this section, “initial license” means the license of a jperson-whe-is-afirst-
year} licensee fand} who:

(a) Did not hold a real estate license issued by another state or territory of the United
States, or the District of Columbia, on the date on which the {first-year} licensee obtained a real
estate license issued by the State of Nevada;

(b) Had not held a license as a real estate broker, real estate broker-[salesman]
salesperson or real estate|salesman| salesperson issued by the State of Nevada within the 5
years immediately preceding the date on which the {fisst-year} licensee obtained a license as a
real estate[salesman| salesperson; or

(c) Is licensed as a real estate broker-[salesman| salesperson and obtained the
qualifications for licensure as a real estate broker-[salesman| salesperson pursuant to the

provisions of subsection 2 of NRS 645.343.
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7. Not less than 50 percent of the total hours of required continuing education set
Sorth in this section |may| must be taken through live instruction by a licensee.
8. A licensee who fails to comply with the requirements for continuing education set
Sorth in this section is subject to immediate involuntary inactivation of the license by the
Division iidNRNGMRINISIHGHVE Jine.
9. The requirements set forth in NAC 645.448 as amended in Section 3 of LCB File No.
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