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Ombudsman’s
Huddle

s Nevada eagerly prepares to resume ‘business as usual, or at
least reinstate some of the practices that were in place prior to the
pandemic, we ask that associations continue to follow the governor’s
emergency directives regarding the reopening process. This guidance can be

found directly on the governor’s main Emergency Orders page. It is especially

important to pay attention to directive expiration dates, as well as any
extensions which may have been provided. Most recently, it is important to
note that the governor has eased restrictions on venue capacities and large
gatherings.

| also ask that community managers and board directors continue to seek
guidance and advice from hired experts. While many in the industry would
like NRS 116 to have all the answers, statutes are not created to anticipate
unique circumstances. NRED staff are simply not able to answer many of the
pandemic-specific situations and dilemmas that have arisen due to Nevada’s
COVID-19 response.

Once again, | am advising that associations err on the side of caution
whenever possible. Keeping our constituents safe is of our utmost concern,
and we appreciate all of the efforts the CIC industry has made to ensure that
there has been no major disruption to business during this time.

- OMBUDSMAN CHARVEZ FOGER
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Mailing in Your Annual Fee

ith the continued closure of the Nevada State

Business Center, many forms and payments that
were typically accepted by walk-in or drop-off, have now
only been accepted by mail. This has led to an enormous
increase in the amount of paperwork to be processed each
day by our mail team.

As such, the Ombudsman’s Office is asking associations
to give our staff sufficient time to process this mail and not
wait until the last minute, or end of the month, to submit
annual association registration forms and payments.
Remember, payments must be IN THE OFFICE by the last
day of the month (Policy 01-2).

NRS 116.31155 outlines the consequences for
associations if required annual registration payments
are not received timely, stating that the Division shall
impose an administrative penalty equaling 10% of the
amount of the fees owed or $500, whichever amount is

less. Additionally, the amount of unpaid fees owed bears
interest at the rate set forth in NRS 99.040 (a rate equal
to the prime rate at the largest bank in Nevada, plus 2%),
from the date the fees are due until the date the fees are
paid in full.

As a reminder, if an association is subject to the
governing documents of a master association, the master
association shall pay the registration fees required, unless
the governing documents of the master association
provide otherwise.

Once again, we thank you for being understanding
and flexible with us during this time, and appreciate any
attempts made to proactively submit registrations at
least 5 business days in advance of the due date in order
to give the office sufficient time for receipt and internal
processing.

NEW CCICCH COMMISSIONER PHYLLIS TOMASSO

Please welcome
the newly appointed
homeowner member of
the Common-Intesrest
CICCH Commission:
Phyllis Tomasso.

Ms. Tomasso
originally hails from

“lam truly

the western part of
honoredto ~ New York State. After
beapartof  graduating from
f{"”t”/'\;””g;" college with a BA in
eepievada  Mathematics and
the ‘Gold .
Standard’ for ~ Physics, 'she began a
HOAs.” career in Computer

System Design with
Eastman Kodak in Rochester, New York.
Over several years, she worked with
Union Carbide chemical corporation,

the University of South Carolina, and
American Industries & Resources
Corporation in Ohio.

While living in Ohio, Ms. Tomasso
took on the additional duty of acting
as a property manager, overseeing
100 rental units. She continued as a
property manager for 20 years, gaining
experience working with residents in
communal properties, and learning the
importance of “giving people a sense
of belonging to a community while
remaining open to the many points of
view among various residents.”

As a property manager, she states
“it is of the utmost importance to
give current residents a desire to care
for that community, while hopefully
inspiring future residents to gain that

same feeling.”

In 1995, Ms. Tomasso moved to Las
Vegas, where she was introduced to the
concept of homeowner associations.
It did not take her long to recognize
the benefits an association offers
homeowners.

Always active in the communities
in which she resided, Ms. Tomasso
quickly and naturally transitioned
from observing, to serving on her
HOA boards. She has served as both a
director and vice president, and has
been impressed with the remarkable
job Nevada has done of “creating a
strong foundation for associations,
setting a precedent of protecting their
future and integrity.”


http://red.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/rednvgov/Content/CIC/Policies/policy_01-2.pdf

The Foreclosure Process y

Now that the foreclosure moratorium has ended, it is important for anyone serving on their association’s
executive board of directors to refresh their memories regarding the collection process within Common-
Interest Communities. Mike Randolph with HOA Collections LLC created the quick guide below:

STEP 1
or whatae Familiarize yourself with the law regarding foreclosure (NRS 116.3116—
1o be DESEER 116.3117) and your governing documents (declaration of CC&Rs and

5 of view. . .
Pom,t are collection policy).
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STEP 2

Make sure that your annual budget mailer sent out pursuant to NRS
116.31151 is set to contain the:

+ Service member protection notice and response form required by NRS
116.31625;

« Federal, state, and tribal worker protection notice and response form
required by NRS 116.31627; and

+ Association’s collection policy.

Understand the initial steps.
- "N P

[ PAST DUE] « NRS116.31162(4) requires that a pre-collection notice be sent “not earlier
s than 60 days after the obligation becomes past due.”
« This notice contains: a schedule of fees that may be charged if the unit
owner fails to pay the past due obligation, a proposed repayment plan,
" and a notice of the right to contest the past due obligation at a hearing,
including procedures for requesting such a hearing.

+ Ifthe homeowner does not: pay in full; enter into a payment plan/ make a
payment within 10 days; or request a hearing to contest the amount with
the board, there is a 30-day waiting period before the next step can be
taken.

« Ifyour collection policy states that a Notice of Intent to Lien will be sent
prior to recording the lien, that must be done within the appropriate
deadline as outlined in the policy.




STEP 3 (CONTINUED)

THE FORECLOSURE PROCESS (CONTINUED)

STEP 4

« Nextis the recording and mailing of the Notice of Delinquent Assessment
Lien, which must be mailed by certified or registered mail, return receipt
requested, to the address of the owner, if known, and the address of the
unit.

« Follow up demands and a notice of intent to file a Notice of Default can be
sent at this time. Again, look at your collection policy to determine if they
are required.

« 30 days after the Notice of Delinquent Assessment Lien has been mailed,
the association may record and mail a Notice of Default and Election to Sell
to satisfy the lien.

« This notice has a 90-day redemption window starting the first day
following the mailing (certified mail, receipt requested) of the Notice to
the owner, their successor in interest, the unit, the holders of all recorded
security interests, and any person who has requested notice pursuant to
NRS 116.31168.

+ Authorization to publish must be placed on the agenda and voted on
in a meeting of the Board of Directors, and if approved, signed by the
appropriate board member and returned to the agency handling the
foreclosure.

Understand the sale.

« After the expiration of the 90-day period, before selling the unit, the Notice
of Sale must be recorded, posted in 3 public places in the county and at
the unit, mailed by certified mail to everyone included in the mailing of the
Notice of Default, and mailed to the Ombudsman. It must be published for
three consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in the county.

« The sale must be held between the hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. at a public
location designated by the county, or at the county courthouse, depending
on the county.

+ The sale may be postponed up to three times by oral proclamation to
another date at the same location and same time as originally noticed.

+ Thesaleisto the highest cash bidder.

« The purchaser will receive a certificate of sale which is to be recorded
including a statement that the sale is subject to a 60-day right of redemption
by the defaulting owner, a junior lien holder, or their successors in interest.

« If the security interest holder satisfies the amounts that are prior to the
security interest not less than five days before the sale, the security interest
is not extinguished, and a record of such satisfaction must be recorded
before the sale may take place. It must be announced at the sale that the
satisfaction has been tendered.

« After the 60-day redemption period has expired, the purchaser receives a
deed to the property.



Home Sales During the Pandemic

According to the National Association of Realtors,
existing-home sales in the Western portion of the country
increased 30.5% in July 2020, a 7.8% increase from just
one year ago.

With residential real estate proving itself to be a
boomingindustry during the Covid-19 pandemic, itisonce
again important for unit owners within Nevada common-
interest communities to familiarize themselves with the
intricacies of the resale package (NRS 116.4109).

Important areas to remember are as follows:

Costs of the resale package are charged to the seller
of the unit.

The association shall furnish aresale package within
10 calendar days of receipt of written request.
Resale packages remain effective for 90 calendar
days.

Provided in electronic format at no fee are copies
of the: declaration of CC&Rs; bylaws; rules &
regulations; information statement required by NRS
116.41095; current operating budget; current year-
to-date financial statement; reserve summary; and
estimate of the total annual assessment/funding
plan necessary to cover future reserve costs.
Pursuant to NAC 116.465, a certificate is provided

for a fee not to exceed $160. This includes a
statement of: any unsatisfied judgments or pending
legal actions against the association; transfer fees,
transaction fees, or any other fees associated
with the resale of a unit in that community; all
current and expected fees for the unit (including
assessments, fine amounts, collection policy, etc.).

A statement of demand is provided at a fee not to

exceed $165. This includes the amount of monthly

assessment needed for common expenses and any
unpaid obligation of any kind currently due from
the selling unit’s owner.

+ The demand remains effective for the period
specified in the demand, which must not be
less than 15 business days after the date of
delivery.

+ The association shall furnish a statement of
demand to the person who requested the
statement and can provide a copy to any
other interested party, whether the seller or
prospective purchaser of the unit.

Aside from expediting fees, the association may not

charge any other fees for preparing or furnishing

required documents.

Separate from the costs of furnishingthe resale package, and subject to the declaration, pursuant

3
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Such a fee must not exceed $350 and must:

Be based on the actual cost the association incurs to open or close any file.
Not be charged to both the seller and the purchaser of a unit.

Be disclosed as part of the certificate described above.

' to NRS 116.3102(1)(0) the association may also charge a fee for opening or closing a filefor each unit.
1
2



POP QUIZ

Are You a Good Member of the Board?

Although often a thankless duty, serving on an association board is extremely important.
If you are currently serving your community as an executive board director or officer, please take a
minute to ask yourself the following questions:

Have | familiarized myself with NRS and NAC 1167

[Tyes [INO

. Have | read my association’s governing documents,

including the declaration of CC&Rs, bylaws, rules/
regulations?

[Tyes [INO

Do | understand my role on the board or the duties
which may have been delegated to the community
manager as outlined in the current management
agreement?

[Tyes [INO

Am | familiar with all contracts to which the association
is a party? Do | maintain cordial relationships with all
hired vendors, when required as part of my outlined
duties, to ensure continued maintenance and upkeep
of the community?

[[Tyes [INO

Have | reviewed the reserve study in order to
understand which projects may be upcoming and the
funding necessary?

[TYes [INO

Have | reviewed the association’s current financial
statements and made myself aware of the current
schedule of revenues and expenses for the operating
and reserve account, compared to the budget for
those accounts?

[Tyes [INO

7.

Do I conduct business of the association appropriately,
via at least a quorum of the board, at a board meeting?

[Tyes [INO

Do | actively participate and hold appropriate
discussions during board meetings while remaining
respectful of other board members and unit owners
present, as well as the community manager?

[Tyes [INO

Do | keep specific unit owner information confidential
at all times and keep association matters off of
social media sites, only communicating community
information through official publications?

[Tyes [INO

10.

When attending violation hearings, am | fair and
unbiased, willing to listen to the alleged violator
and ready to apply any consequences stated in the
governing documents uniformly to similar situations?

[Tyes [INO

If you answered “yes” to the questions
above, then congratulations! You are well
on your way to being a productive and
beneficial member of your executive board
and representative for your community.
We ask that you be thoughtful with this
position and continue to take steps
towards best understanding your roles and
responsibilities moving forward.



Working from Homein a CIC

hen

residing in a
w common-interest
community
(CIC), you are bound by the
covenants, conditions and
restrictions (CC&Rs) contained
in the community’s declaration.
Pursuant to NRS 116.2105(1),
the declaration must contain
any restrictions on use and
occupancy of the units.

Most CICs in Nevada are
restricted specifically to
residential use. Pursuant to NRS
116.083, residential use means
“useasadwellingorfor personal,
family or household purposes
by ordinary customers, whether
rented to particular persons or
not, but does not include spaces
or units primarily used to derive
commercial income from, or
provide service to the public.”

While this may seem clear,
recent occurrences have made
the separation of residential

home life, and the jobs from

which residents derive their
primary source of income,
nearly impossible. Those

who transitioned from their
businesses to home are now
finding themselves having to

adjust to conducting many
of their work tasks in this
new environment, while

simultaneously making sure
not to become a burden on
their neighbors. Accordingly,
associations have had to grapple
with the question of whether or
not certain work functions could
be seen as potentially violating
their community’s declaration.

It is obvious that some work-
from-home jobs are less invasive
to the community than others.
Teaching students remotely
from home, for example, is
very different from running a
home daycare. Why? One may
potentially be done without the

neighbors even knowing, while
the other will most likely bring
additional traffic and noise into
the community. The question
then arises of how the board
should treat each of these types
of violations.

Unit owners must understand
that the board is constantly
walking a fine line between being
too obtrusive into homeowners’
lives and properly addressing
other homeowners’ complaints.
The board cannot simply ignore
a resident who complains that
theirneighborisengagedinsome
sort of behavior in opposition to
the CC&Rs, especially when the
behavior creates a “nuisance”
or negatively impacts the “quiet
enjoyment” of other residents in
the community.

When the board does receive
complaints of a potential home-
business, it must act carefully.
After all, how does the board



WORKING FROM HOME IN A CIC CONTINUED

know that this unit owner is in fact running a
business, as opposed to simply helping family
and/or friends during a difficult time? The answer
isthat the association must provide the unitowner
with an opportunity to be heard regarding any
potential violation of the governing documents.
When it comes to alleged businesses being ran

from the home, the association should first focus
on any obvious adverse impact on the community.
Ideally, a picture can be obtained of the violation;
i.e. cars being parked where they should not be,
trash and/or boxes being left out against the
association's rules, commercial signage being
installed when not permitted. Each potential
violation of a similar nature must then be treated
equally, resulting in a notice being sent to the
alleged violator.

When addressing governing document
violations, NRS 116.31031 states that, within a
reasonable time after discovery of the alleged
violation, the violator should be provided

with written notice: specifying in detail the
alleged violation; including a clear and detailed
photograph of the alleged violation if possible;
the proposed action to cure the alleged violation;
the amount of the fine; and the date, time and
location for a hearing.

By applying the CC&Rs to violations which have
the greatest potential of impacting others in the
community, board members can work towards
preserving the “quiet enjoyment” of residents. At
the same time, they can remove themselves from
the perception of being arbitrary or capricious
when taking enforcement action by applying
provisions of the CC&Rs uniformly, and taking into
consideration whether or not the violation can
be justified by clear and specific language in the
governing documents.

While there are absolutely times when behavior
occurringinside ofaunitneedsto be corrected, the
board’s job can be made easier by acting on those
violations of the governing documents which can
be easily documented, difficult to refute due to
photographic evidence being obtained, and which
negatively impact others in the community. The
ultimate goal is always to protect and preserve
the community from harmful behavior, and
the executive board, after hearing the facts and
circumstances, always has discretion regarding
whether to take enforcement action.



Questions from our Constituents

Q1.

Q2.

Q3.

I recently submitted a Complaint Form 530 to your office and was told that | did not meet the
requirements of NRS 116.760. Can you explain?

A person who is aggrieved by an alleged violation committed by their association may, not later than 1 year
after the person discovers or reasonably should have discovered the alleged violation, file with the Division

a written affidavit stating the facts. The aggrieved person may not file such an affidavit unless he or she

has first provided the respondent by certified mail, return receipt requested, written notice of the alleged
violation set forth in the affidavit, specifying, in reasonable detail: the alleged violation; any actual damages
suffered by the aggrieved person as a result of the alleged violation; and any corrective action proposed by
the aggrieved person. The affidavit must also be accompanied by evidence that: (1) The respondent has been
given a reasonable opportunity after receiving the written notice to correct the alleged violation (at least 10
business days) ; and (2) Reasonable efforts to resolve the alleged violation have failed.

What does the Division consider to be a “reasonable effort” as stated in this provision of law? We expect

the board/community manager to abide by NRS 116.31087 whenever they receive a certified complaint by
the unit owner and, not later than 10 business days after receiving such a complaint, acknowledge receipt

of the complaint and notify the unit’s owner that if he or she submits a written request that the subject of
the complaint be placed on the agenda of the next regularly scheduled meeting of the executive board, the
subject of the complaint will be placed for discussion as such.

My association recently notified me that my tenant had a guest over who was refusing to pick up
after their pet as is required in our association’s governing documents. This notice informed me of
a potential fine if | do not address this behavior with my tenant moving forward. How can | be held
responsible for the behavior of my tenant’s guest?

NRS 116.31031(2) states that “the executive board may not impose a fine against a unit’s owner for a violation
of any provision of the governing documents of an association committed by an invitee, unless the unit’s
owner:

(a) Participated in or authorized the violation;

(b) Had prior notice of the violation; or

(c) Had an opportunity to stop the violation and failed to do so.”
While we can most likely agree that (a) and (c) do not apply to this situation, (b) is exactly what the
association is attempting to comply with by sending you a courtesy notice of the alleged violation. Now
that you have been notified, you have the opportunity to remind the tenant of the association’s rules and
regulations, as well as any repercussions outlined in the rental agreement. You also have the opportunity to
let your association’s board of directors know that you are correcting the alleged violation as required.

I am on my association’s executive board of directors and we have been conducting certain
business via email. A unit owner now wants to see those emails, should we be providing them?

NRS 116 speaks of conducting board business at a properly noticed board meeting, including an agenda,
minutes, etc. (NRS 116.31083). NRS 82.271(3) states that “unless otherwise restricted by the articles or bylaws,
members of the board of directors may participate in a meeting through electronic communications, or
other available technology which allows the participants to communicate simultaneously or sequentially.
Participating in a meeting pursuant to this subsection constitutes presence in person at the meeting.”

As long as abiding by chapter 82 does not cause the board to avoid the requirements of chapter 116, there
may be no conflict between the two provisions regarding board meetings.

If a circumstance arises in which board members must participate in a meeting utilizing electronic methods,
any electronic communication involved in the decision making of the board, resulting in board action taken,
does become an association record to be provided upon request of a unit owner.



What happened at Commission?

ALLEGATIONS/STIPULATIONS

Stipulations occur when both the respondent and the Division have agreed to conditions reviewed and accepted by
both sides. A stipulation may or may not be an admission of guilt.

ACTIONS/DECISIONS

Acts of the Commission for Common-Interest Communities and Condominium Hotels are not published until after the
30-day period allowed for filing under Judicial Review. If a stay on discipline is issued by the court, the matter is not
published until the final outcome of the review.

CASE NUMBER 2018-952 TYPE OF RESPONDENT Supervising Community Manager
2018-978
2019-409

ALLEGATIONS/VIOLATIONS

Respondent violated NRS 116A.630 by failing to comply with state laws, failing to abide by the management agreement, failing to
act as a fiduciary when misrepresenting the association's required reserve funding, failing to exercise ordinary and reasonable care
in the performance of his duties by allowing a non-unit owner to serve on the executive board, and by permitting a board member
to be compensated by the association for providing payroll services; NRS 116.31153 by being the sole signer of association checks
and withdrawing money from the reserve account without proper signatures, and by creating a budget based on tiered assessments
when the association's governing documents did not permit tiered assessments; NRS 116.31034(4) by failing to give unit owners
notice of eligibility to serve as a member of the executive board; NRS 116.4109 by failing to furnish a resale package that stated any
pending legal actions against the association and the status of such litigation; NRS 116A.640 by impeding or otherwise interfering
with an investigation of the Division by failing to comply with a request for documents, providing false or misleading information to
an investigator, and concealing facts or documents relating to the business of the association; and NAC 116A.355 by demonstrating
a significant lack of ability, knowledge or fitness to perform a duty or obligation owed to a client, failing to exercise reasonable skill
and care with respect to a client, and committing unprofessional conduct or professional incompetence by failing to act in the best
interests of a client by failing to disclose a Law Firm letter to the board before the association incurred $18,000 in attorney fees.

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

Within 90 days of the effective date of this order, Gerald Marks shall pay a total amount of $78,536.39 ($75,000.00 fine, $3,536.39 in
fees and costs). Respondent’s license shall be revoked for a period of 10 years from the effective date of this order. At the expiration
of the 10-year revocation period, respondent may reapply to the Division for a license but only if the amount due stated above has
been paid in full. The Division may institute debt collection proceedings for failure to timely pay the amount due, or any installment
thereof. Further, if collection goes through the State of Nevada, then the respondent shall also pay the costs associated with

collection.
CASE NUMBER 2018-977 TYPE OF RESPONDENT Community Manager

ALLEGATIONS/VIOLATIONS

Respondent with a temporary community manager certificate terminated her contract with the association that hired her under
that certificate and then began working for a different association after her temporary certificate had expired. NRS 116A.410(1)
states that the Commission shall by regulation provide for the issuance by the Division of certificates. NAC 116A.137(2)(a) states that
a temporary certificate expires as of the time that the certified person ceases to be employed by the association which made an
offer of employment. Atemporary certificate may not be renewed, and no person may obtain another temporary certificate after the
temporary certificate issued to that person has expired.

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

No discipline ordered. Respondent admitted that she had noiillintent and misunderstood the regulation. She has since obtained her
community manager certificate and is managing under that credential. The Commission ordered the case dismissed.



OUR OFFICES WILL BE CLOSED
UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE:

To receive updates as to when the office
will reopen, as well as other pertinent,
ongoing information, please sign up to

receive Ombudsman emails by subscribing
from our Direct Link.

Ombudsman Information
July through September 2020

Total Associations Registered in the State of Nevada | 3,432
Complaints Received 85
Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Filings 97
Associations Reviewed for Possible Audit 50
Records Requests Processed 9
Training Sessions Conducted 37
Classroom Attendees 675

UPCOMING COMMISSION MEETINGS

® OCTOBER 27-29

Further details located on the CICCH Commission Calendar.

UPCOMING HOLIDAYS

OCTOBER 30 / NEVADA DAY

NOVEMBER 11 / VETERANS DAY

NOVEMBER 27 / THANKSGIVING & FAMILY DAY
DECEMBER 25 / CHRISTMAS DAY

JANUARY 1 / NEW YEAR'S DAY

STATE OF NEVADA
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS &
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Terry Reynolds
Director

REAL ESTATE DIVISION

Sharath Chandra
ADMINISTRATOR

COMMON-INTEREST COMMUNITIES &
CONDOMINIUM HOTELS
Office of the Ombudsman

Charvez Foger
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Monique Williamson
EDUCATION & INFORMATION OFFICER
EDITOR

COMMISSION FOR COMMON-
INTEREST COMMUNITIES &
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Michael Burke, Esq., Chairman
ATTORNEY MEMBER

Charles Niggemeyer, Vice-Chairman
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Richard Layton, Secretary
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Phyllis Tomasso, Commissioner
HOMEOWNER MEMBER

Tonya Gale, Commissioner
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Vacant, Commissioner
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3300 W. SAHARA AVE. SUITE 325
LAS VEGAS, NV 89102

PHONE: 702-486-4480
FAX: 702-486-4520
EMAIL: CICOMBUDSMAN®@RED.NV.GOV


https://listserv.state.nv.us/scripts/wa.exe?SUBED1=NEVADAHOAS&A=1
http://red.nv.gov/Content/Meetings/CIC_Calendar/
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