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Disclaimer!

» The information provided in this course Is infended for informational and
educational purposes only. Nothing provided in this presentation should be
taken as legal advice.

» Should confusion arise requiring the interpretation and application of the
law tO your association’s specific circumstances, a legal opinion from a
qualified attorney may be necessary.

» This class is infended o provide an overview of legislative changes only.
Please review the course calendar, training request form, and
presentations published on the fraining webpage to gain a better
understanding of what NRS 116 requires. See our fraining webpage at
hitp://red.nv.gov/Content/CIC/Program_Training/.



http://red.nv.gov/Content/CIC/Program_Training/

Intfroduction

» The Nevada legislative session occurs
every two (2) years and lasts 120 days.

» The 815t Session of the Nevada Legislature
began on February 15, 2021 and
adjourned on June 15, 2021.

» The Nevada Legislature’s welbsite

(https:.//www.leg.state.nv.us) contains
detailed information concerning the
ifespan of many bills that have been
proposed and passed.



https://www.leg.state.nv.us/

Learning Objectives;
Overview of Relevant Legislative Bills that Passed
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Expressly constrains
costs of resale
package & certain
fees.




AB237 —116's Applicability to Nonresidential
Condominiums & Planned Communities

Effective January 1, 2022:
» NRS 116.12075 is amended as follows:

1. The provisions of NRS 116 do not apply to @
nonresidential condominium except to the extent
that the declaration for the nonresidential
condominium provides that:

a)  This entire chapter applies to the condominium;

b)  Only the provisions of NRS 116.001 to
116.2124, inclusive, and 116.3116 to 116.31168,
inclusive, apply to the condominium; or

c) Only the provisions of NRS 116.3116 to
116.31168, inclusive, apply to the
condominium.

» NRS 116.12077 is amended as follows:

1.

The declaration for the nonresidential
planned community may provide that:

a) This entire chapter applies to the
planned community;

b) Only the provisions of NRS 116.001 to
116.2124, inclusive, and
116.3116 to 116.31168, inclusive, apply
to the planned community; or

c) Only the provisions of NRS 116.3116 to
116.31168, inclusive, apply to the
planned community.

NRS 116.2124 addresses the termination of a CIC following catastrophic loss of all the units.



AB237 — Annual Increase of
Opening or Closing of a File Fee

CHARTS

12-month percentage change, Consumer Price Index,
selected categories, April 2021, not seasonally adjusted

Major categories
Percent

All iterns less

food and
energy

httos://www.bls.qov/cpi/

>

>

Beginning January 1, 2022, NRS
116.3102(1)(o0) is amended as follows:

The opening or closing of a file fee
authorized by NRS 116.3102(1) (o) must be
Increased by the percentage increase in
the Consumer Price Index (All lfems)
published by the United States Department
of Labor from December 2020 to the
December preceding the calendar year for
which the adjustment is calculated, but the
Increase must not exceed 3 percent each
year.


https://www.bls.gov/cpi/

AB237 - Increases Cap on Demand l
or Intent to Lien Letter

» Effective January 1, 2022, NRS
116.3116(5)(a) changes as
follows:

» Cap on the cost that can
be included in an
association’s super priority
lien for a demand or intent
to lien letter increases from
$150 fo $165.




AB237 — Clean Up of NRS 116.4101, Resale
Package Not Required in Certain Instances

Effective January 1, 2022, NRS 116.4101 is hereby amended to read as
follows:

» Neither a public offering statement nor a resale
package described in NRS 116.4109 need be prepared or
delivered in the case of a:

a) Gratuitous disposition of a unit;

b) Disposition pursuant to court order;

c) Disposition by a government or governmental agency;
d) Disposition by foreclosure or deed in lieu of foreclosure;
e) Disposition to a dealer;

f)  Disposition that may be cancelled at any time and for any
reason by the purchaser without penalty;



AB237 — Resale Certificate Fees Now
Capped by Statute (instead of regulation)

Effective immediately:

» The association may charge a reasonable fee to cover the cost of
preparing the resale certificate.

» Such a fee must be based on the actual cost the association incurs in
preparing the certificate pursuant to NRS 116.4109(4).

» The Commission is no longer required to adopt regulations establishing the
amount of the fee.

» The Legislature has capped the fee by statute at $185, with the fee to
expedite delivery of the resale certificate to sooner than 3 business
days after the date of the request to $100.

» The amount of the fee may increase, on an annual basis, by a
percentage equal to the percentage of increase in the Consumer
Price Index (All Items) published by the United States Department of

Labor for the preceding calendar year, but must not increase by more
than 3 percent each year.




AB237 — Express Cap on Certain

Fees

» Effective January 1, 2022, NRS 116.3102 is
amended by adding a new subsection:

» In providing resale packages or opening &
closing of a file, an association, or entity
related to or acting on behalf of an
association, shall not impose a fee:

a) Not authorized by NRS 116.3102(1)(n)or(0o);
or

b) Which exceeds any limitation provided or
set forth in NRS 116.3102(1)(n)or(0).




AB237 — Express Cap on Fees for
Preparing/Providing Resale Packages

Effective immediately, NRS 116.4109 is amended by adding a
new subsection to read as follows: F E E

» In preparing, copying, furnishing or expediting or LIMIT
otherwise providing any document or other item

pursuant to this section, an association, or entity
related to or acting on behalf of an association, shall
not charge a unit’'s owner, the authorized agent of @
unit’'s owner, a purchaser or the holder of a security
inferest on a unit, any fee:

a) Not authorized in this section; or

b) In an amount which exceeds any limit set forth in
this section.



AB237 — Complaints Alleging Excess
Fees Filed with NRED, New Provisions

Effective immediately:

» A person who is aggrieved by an alleged violation of NRS 116.3102(6)
(opening or closing of a file fee) or NRS 116.4109(8) (cap on fees for

. preparing resale package) may file a written complaint with the

Complalnt Division setting forth the facts of the alleged violation (Form 9210).

» The Division shall:
» Review the complaint in a timely manner.

» If circumstances warrant, issue a notice to the person who is
alleged to have committed the violation requesting a written
response and proof of corrective action, including, without
limitation, the reimbursement of any excessive fees to the
aggrieved person.

» Failure to respond to the notice within 30 days after receipt:
» Shall be deemed an admission of the violation; and
» Is punishable by an administrative fine in the amount of $250.




Knowledge Check

. What is the new cap for an intent to lien leftere

. The opening or closing of a file fee must increase by
what each yeare

. Can the association charge fees not described by
statute for preparing and furnishing a resale
packagee



AB249 — Limiting an Association’s Ability
to Limit Construction Work Hours

JANUARY FEBRUARY

AUGUST SEPTEMBER

OCTOBER NOVEMBER DECEMBER

Cannoft restrict hours

Can restrict hours

Effective immediately, NRS 116 is amended by adding a new section
as follows:

>

If the county or city in which a CIC is located adopts an ordinance
restricting the hours in which construction work may begin, the
executive board and governing documents must not restrict those
hours during the period beginning on May 1 and ending
September 30 to hours other than those set forth in in the
ordinance.

These provisions do not preclude the executive board or the
governing documents from restricting the hours that construction
work may begin:

a) If the county or city has not adopted such an ordinance; or

b) During the period beginning on October 1 and ending on April
30.

This change applies to a CIC containing more than 6 units.



AB301 — Towing Prohibited Solely for
Expired Registration

» Effective October 1, 2021, NRS 116.3102(1)(t) is amended as
follows:

» An association may not direct the removal of a vehicle
parked on property owned or leased by the association
solely because the registration of the vehicle is expired.

» NRS 706.4477 is now applicable to CICs by way of NRS
116.3102(1)(t) referring to NRS 487.038, which was amended
to refer to NRS 706.4477.



AB301 - Towing Requirements

» Effective October 1, 2021, NRS 706.4477(1) provides:

1. If towing is requested by a person other than the owner, or a law
enforcement officer:

a) The person requesting the towing must be the owner of the
real property from which the vehicle is towed or the owner’s
authorized agent and must sign a specific request for the
towing.

b) The area from which the vehicle is to be towed must be
appropriately posted in accordance with state or local
requirements.

c) Notice must be given to the appropriate law enforcement
agency pursuant to state and local requirements.

—— 7 d) The operator may be directed to terminate the towing by a
law enforcement officer.



AB301 — Relevant Definitions
NRS 706.4477(8)

» “Parking violation” means a violation of any:
1. State or local law or ordinance governing parking; or

2. Parking rule promulgated by the owner or manager of
the residential complex that applies to vehicles on
the property of the residential complex.

» “Residential complex” means a group of apariments,
condominiums or fownhomes infended for use as
residential units and for which a common parking area

Is provided, regardless of whether each resident or unit

——— has been assigned a specific parking space in the

common parking area.




AB301 — Towing Requirements in @
Residential Complex

» Effective October 1, 2021, NRS 706.4477 is amended as follows:

» If the owner of real property or their authorized agent requests a
vehicle to be towed from a residential complex at which the
vehicle is located, the owner or authorized agent (could be tow
car operator if entered info a confract with the owner):

» Must meet the requirements of NRS 706.4477(1).

» Must notify the owner or operator of the vehicle not less than 48 hours
before the tow by affixing to the vehicle a sticker which provides the
date and time after which the vehicle will be towed. This provision
does not apply if notice was previously affixed:

» For the same or a similar reason within the same residential complex.

» Three or more times during the immediately preceding 6 months within the
same residential complex for any reason, regardless of whether the vehicle
was subsequently towed.



AB301 - Towing Criteria

» Effective October 1, 2021, NRS 706.4477 is amended as follows:

» If the owner of real property or their authorized agent requests a vehicle to be
towed from a residential complex at which the vehicle is located, the owner or

authorized agent (could be tow car operator if entered info a contract with the
owner):

» May only have a vehicle towed:
» Because of a parking violation;

» If the vehicle is NOT registered pursuant to NRS 706 or NRS 482, or in any other
state; or

» If the vehicle is:
» Blocking a fire hydrant, fire lane, or parking space; or

=R, » Posing an imminent threat of causing a substantial adverse effect on the

W b o= (f;\ health, safety or welfare of the residents of the residential complex,

D et — Ll which may include, without limitation, if the vehicle is parked in a space
Ny = that is clearly marked for a specific resident or the use of a specific unit

in the residential complex.

g
' » May NOT have a vehicle towed solely because the registration of the vehicle is
expired.



AB301 - Towing Costs & Charges

.—\

» Effective October 1, 2021, NRS 706.4477 is amended as follows:
» An operator shall not charge any fee or cost for the storage of the motor

vehicle until at least 48 hours after the motor vehicle arrives and is
registered at the place of storage. If the motor vehicle arrives after the
regular business hours, the 48-hour period begins when the regular business
hours next begin.

The owner of the vehicle shall pay a hardship tariff for the cost of removal
and storage of the motor vehicle if:

a) A vehicle has been towed because it was NOT registered.

b) The owner of the vehicle does not provide proof that the vehicle
was registered; and

c) The owner, for reasons outside of his or her control as determined
by the regulations adopted pursuant to this section, is incapable of
paying the normal rate charged for the removal and storage of
the motor vehicle.

» The Nevada Transportation Authority shall adopt regulations to carry

out the provisions of this section, including, without Ilimitation,
establishing a range of hardship tariffs and setfting forth what qualifies as a
reason that is outside of the conftrol of the owner.



Nevada Transportation Authority

» NTA Contact Information

= Address: 3300 W. Sahara Ave, Suite 200,
Las Vegas, NV 89102

= Phone: (702) 486-3303
= Email: ntfa@nta.nv.gov



mailto:nta@nta.nv.gov

1.

Knowledge Check

Beginning October 1, 2021, the removal of @
vehicle can be directed solely because the
registration of a vehicle is expired.

An association may limit consftruction hours to those
outside of an ordinance adopted by a city or
county, but only during the summer.

Only an owner of real property or the owner’s
authorized agent can direct the removal of vehicles
from their property.




SB72 — Applicabllity of Certain
Provisions to LPAS

» Effective immediately, NRS
116.1201(2)(a) is amended as follows:

» A limited purpose association shall
now also comply with the
provisions of NRS 116.3116 to 31168
(governing the nonjudicial
foreclosure process), inclusive.




SB72 — Health, Safety, and Weltare
Violations

» Effective immediately, NRS
116.31031(1)(b)(2) iIs amended by
requiring the Commission 1o adopt
regulations establishing the criteria used
in determining whether a violation
poses an imminent threat of causing a
substantial adverse effect on the
health, safety or welfare of the units’
owners or residents of the common-
Inferest community, the severity of such
violations and limitations on the
amounts of the fines.




SB72 — Health, Safety, and Weltare
Violations Committed by Invitees

» Effective immediately, NRS 116.31031(2) is amended as follows:

> Unless the violation poses an imminent threat of causing a
substantial adverse effect on the health, safety or welfare of the
units’ owners or residents of the common-interest community as
provided in the regulations adopted by the Commission, the
executive board may not impose a fine against a unit’'s owner
or tenant for a violation committed by an invitee unless the
unit's owner or tenant:

» Parficipated in the violation;

» Previously received a courtesy notice pursuant fo NRS
116.31031(1)(c); or

» Had an opportunity to stop the violation and failed to do
SO.



SB72 — Confinuing Violations

» Effective immediately, NRS 116.31031(7) is amended as follows:

» If afineis imposed and the violation is not cured within 14 days, or
within any longer period that may be established by the executive
board, the violation shall be deemed a continuing violation.
Thereafter, the executive board may impose an additional fine for the
violation, in an amount that does not exceed the amount of the
original fine, for each 7-day period or portion thereof that the violation
Is not cured. Any additional fine

» May be imposed without providing the opportunity to cure the
violation and without additional notice or hearing; and

» Is not subject to any limitation on the amount of fines set forth in NRS
116.31031(1) or the regulation adopted pursuant thereto.



SB72 — Executive Session

» Effective immediately, NRS 116.31085(3)
Is amended as follows:

» An executive board may meet in
executive session only to:

» Consult with the attorney for the
association
if the
contents of the discussion would
otherwise be governed by the
privilege set forth in NRS 49.035 to
49115, inclusive.




Executive Sessions & Notice

» Pursuant to NRS 116.31083(3) (b), notwithstanding any other provision of law or the governing
documents of the association to the contrary, if the executive board holds a meeting in
executive session:

» To consult with the attorney concerning privileged matters or to discuss an employee or the
community manager, the secretary or other officer specified in the bylaws of the association
IS required to:

» Post nofice of the executive session in one or more prominent places within the common
elements of the association; and

» Provide electronic nofice of the execuftive session to all units’ owners who have provided
the association with an electronic mail address.

» Any maftter discussed in executive session must be generally noted in the minutes of the
subsequent regular meeting of the executive board (NRS 116.31085[6]).

» Additionally, fo take action on what the attorney may have advised pertaining to the
community, the board must still place the matter on the agenda, discuss, and vote at the
regular board meeting.



SB72 — Due Process Rights

» Effective immediately, NRS 116.31085(4) is amended as follows

4. An executive board shall meet in executive session to hold a hearing on an alleged violation
of the governing documents unless the person who may be sanctioned for the alleged
violation requests in writing that an open hearing be conducted by the executive board

, in which case the hearing must be held in a meeting of the executive board pursuant to
NRS 116.31083. The person who may be sanctioned for the alleged violation :

a) s entitled to attend all portions of the hearing related to the alleged violation, including,
without limitation, the presentation of evidence and the testimony of withesses;

b) Is entitled to due process, as set forth in the standards adopted by regulation by the
Commission, which must include, without limitation, the right to counsel, the right to
present withnesses and the right to present information relating to any conflict of interest
of any member of the hearing panel;

c) Is not entifled fo attend the deliberations of the executive board  ; and

d) Is entitled to receive written notice of the decision of the executive board regarding the
alleged violation within a reasonable time after the decision is made. The period to cure
a violation before it becomes a continuing violation as provided in subsection 7 of NRS
116.31031 shall be deemed not to commence until the date on which the notice of the
decision of the executive board is provided to the person sanctioned for the violation.



SB72 — Hearing Decision,

Conforming Change

» Effective immediately, NRS 116.31085(6) is amended as follows:

6.

Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, any matter discussed by the
executive board when it meets in executive session must be generally noted
in the minutes of the meeting of the executive board. If the executive
board holds a meeting limited exclusively to an executive session pursuant to
paragraph (c) or (d) of subsection 3, at the next regularly scheduled
meeting of the executive board, the executive board shall acknowledge
that the executive board met in accordance with paragraph (c) or (d) of
subsection 3, as applicable, and include such an acknowledgment in the
minutes of the meeting at which the acknowledgment was made. The
executive board shall maintain minutes of any decision made pursuant to
subsection 4 concerning an alleged violation.



SB186 — NRS Secure Internet
Website

» Effective January 1, 2022, NRS 116 is amended by adding a new section as follows:

1. Each association of a common-interest community that contains 150 or more units shall establish and
maintain a secure Internet website or electronic portal that may be accessed by any unit’s owner. The
association shall make available on the website or within the electronic portal any documents relating
to the common-interest community or the association, including, without limitation:

a) The governing documents;

b) The most recent copy of the declaration of covenants, conditions and restrictions;
c) The annual budget of the association and any proposed budgets;

d) The notices and agendas for any upcoming meetings of the association; and

e) Any other documents required to be posted by law or regulation.

2. Each association of a common-interest community that contains fewer than 150 vnits may, and is
encovuraged to, establish and maintain a secure Internet website or electronic portal pursuant to
subsection 1.

Effective January 1, 2023, the internet website must provide units’ owners with the ability to pay assessments
electronically.



SB186 — Delivery of Notices Now Required to
be Delivered via Mail AND Emaill

>
>

>

>

Effective October 1, 2021, NRS 116.31068 is amended as follows:

1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3  and unless a unit’s owner opts out of receiving electronic
communications or has not designated an electronic mail address, an association shall deliver any notice
required to be given by the association under this chapter and any communication from or other information

provided by the association to the mailing Or electronic mail addresses a unit's owner
designates. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, if a unit's owner has opted out of receiving electronic
communications or has not designated an electronic mail address to which a notice A
communication or other information can be delivered, the association may deliver notices, communications
and other information by:

a) Hand delivery to each unit’'s owner;

b) Hand delivery, United States mail, postage paid, or commercially reasonable delivery service to the mailing
address of each unit; or

c}
a} Any other method reasonably calculated to provide notice to the unit’'s owner.

2. The ineffectiveness of a good faith effort to deliver notice by an authorized means does not invalidate action
taken at or without a meeting.

3. The provisions of this section do not apply:
» (a) To a notice required to be given pursuant 1o NRS 116.3116 to 116.31168, inclusive; or

» (b) If any other provision of this chapter specifies the manner in which a notice, communication or other
information must be given by an association.



SB186 — Restriction on who may
Purchase Foreclosed Unit

Effective October 1, 2021, NRS 116.31164 is amended by prohibiting the
following persons from purchasing a foreclosed unit:

q)

b)

Any person who was involved in the process of foreclosing the
association’s lien, including, without limitation:

1)

2)

3)

4)
5)

Any person who exercised discretion in any decision relating to the
foreclosure of the lien and any person employed by such a person;

A collection agency used by the association to collect an obligation
relating to the unit;

A community manager of the association and any of his or her
assistants;

A member of the executive board of the association; or

An attorney who provided representation to any of the parties with
regard to the foreclosure of the lien;

Any person who is related by blood, adoption, marriage or domestic
partnership within the third degree of consanguinity or affinity to @
person set forth in paragraph (a); or

The person conducting the sale or any entity in which that person holds
an interest.



SB186 — Prohibitions on Collection
Agent Relationships

» Effective October 1, 2021, NRS 649.375 is amended to read as follows:
» A collection agency, or its manager, agents or employees, shall not:
» Collect a debt from a person who owes fees to:
» A unit-owners’ association, if the collection agency is:

» Owned or operated by or is an affiliate of the community manager for
the unit-owners’ association; or

» Owned or operated by a person who is related by blood, adoption,
marriage or domestic partnership within the third degree of
consanguinity to a person who is the community manager for the unit-
owners' association.

The Commissioner of Financial Institutions administers and enforces the provisions
of NRS 649 (not the Nevada Real Estate Division).




1.

Knowledge Check

A limited purpose association must now comply
with as a result of the 2021 Legislative
Session.

What must the association now do pursuant to NRS
116.31085(4)(d) to say a violation has become @
continuing violatione

Beginning October 1, 2021, an association’s
community manager may purchase units within the
same association at a foreclosure auction.



AB356 — Prohibifion on Using Water
for Nonfunctional Turt

» Except as otherwise provided in
this section, on and after
January 1, 2027, the waters of
the Colorado River distributed
by the Southern Nevada Water
Authority (SNWA) or one of its
member agencies may not be
used to irmigate nonfunctional
turf on any property that is not
zoned exclusively for a single-
family residence.




AB356 — Prohibition on Using Water

for Nonfunctional Turf

a)

o)

» The Board of Directors of the SNWA shall:

Define “functional turf” and “nonfunctional furf” and
promulgate the definifions in the service rules of its member
agencies; and

Develop a plan to identify and facilitate the removal of
existing nonfunctional turf within the SNWA's service area on
property that is not zoned exclusively for a single-family
residence. The plan must, without limitation:

1) Establish phases for the removal of nonfunctional turf based on
categories of water users; and

2) Establish deadlines within the service area of the Southern
Nevada Water Authority for existing customers to remove
nonfunctional turf on property that is not zoned exclusively for a
single-family residence before December 31, 2026.



AB356 — Nonfunctional Turf
Removal Advisory Committee

» Authorizes formation of the Nonfunctional Turf Removal Advisory Committee.

» The committee must contain:

One member who represents an office park with existing nonfunctional turf at the time
the member is appoinfted;

One member who represents an organization representing businesses;

One member who represents an industrial or commercial business with existing
nonfunctional turf at the time the member is appointed;

Two members who represent a common-interest community with existing nonfunctional
turf at the time the member is appointed;

One member who represents multi-family housing with existing nonfunctional turf at the
time the member is appointed;

One member who represents an environmental organization;

One member who represents a local government with existing nonfunctional turf at the
time the member is appointed; and

One member who represents a golf course with existing nonfunctional turf at the time
the member is appointed.




AB356 — The Nonfunctional Turf
Removal Advisory Committee

» The Nonfunctional Turf Removal Advisory Committee:

1. Shall discuss issues related to the use and removal of nonfunctional
turf by each water use sector, including, without limitation, issues
relating to the plan to identify and remove nonfunctional turf; and

2. May provide written recommendations to the SNWA's Board of
Directors regarding the plan, including, without limitation, any
recommendations for waivers or exemptions.

» Anyrecommendation made by the Advisory Committee must
be approved by a majority vote of all of its voting members.
Any dissenting opinion must be fully documented and included
with the recommendation to the Board of Directors.



Conclusion

» Every two years the Nevada state legislature
convenes and passes bills, which the governor then

signs into law.
» It is important to keep informed of these changes as:

» In determining whether a member of the executive

board has performed his or fiduciary duty, the
Commission may consider whether the member of the

executive board has:

» Kept informed of laws, regulations and
developments relating to common-interest

communities...




Questions?

» hitp://red.nv.gov — Main Page

» CICOmbudsman@red.nv.gov — Email Questions

» hitp://red.nv.gov/Content/CIC/Program Training



http://red.nv.gov/
mailto:CICOmbudsman@red.nv.gov
http://red.nv.gov/Content/CIC/Program_Training

