DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY **REAL ESTATE DIVISION**

<u>realest@red.nv.gov</u>

red.nv.gov

Online Registration, CE Designation & Certificate Distribution for the Nevada Real Estate Commission Hearings

What has changed?

As a result of the Nevada Real Estate Commission's expansion of continuing education (CE) designations, the following may be earned by attending a meeting of the Commission.

Beginning September 10, 2018, licensed attendees of the Nevada Real Estate Commission will be able to earn credit towards:

- Ethics
- Broker Management
- Law & Legislation*
- ✤ Agency*

In order to optimize seating in the meeting rooms and allow attendees to better plan, the Division is implementing a registration procedure for licensees attending the meeting to receive CE credits.

A predetermined number of seats both in the South and North will be allocated per Commission meeting for licensees attending to receive CE credits.

Registration opens two weeks prior to the first day of the Commission Hearings.

Registration will be on a first-come, first-served basis.

Follow the directions noted on the CE Registration Form found at http://red.nv.gov/rec_registration/ to ensure your place as seating is limited.

When registration closes, it will be noted on the website.

Please be advised that if you fail to register prior to registration closing and choose to attend on the first day of the Commission Hearings, you will be placed on a "standby" list and granted seating based on openings due to "no shows" and cancellations.

Be advised that availability for those who are on "standby" will be handled on a first-come, first-served basis.

If you do not register online, you may not have confirmed seating, so please utilize the online registration process for guaranteed seating.

The CE Certificate regulation and distribution process

There will be one CE number on each certificate of attendance, which you may apply to any one or two of the designations noted above. This information will be noted on your CE certificate for your reference.

Nevada Real Estate Commission will grant credit for continuing education, not to exceed 6 hours during a licensing period to a licensee for attending a meeting of the Commission if:

(a) The meeting of the Commission for which credit for continuing education is being sought is not a hearing in which the licensee is participating as the result of a disciplinary action;

(b) The meeting of the Commission for which credit for continuing education is being sought lasts at least 3 hours;

(c) The Commission certifies, for the purposes of providing credit for continuing education, the attendance of the licensee at the meeting; and

(d) If a licensee attends only part of a meeting of the Commission, the Division may determine the number of hours of credit, if any, that the licensee may receive for credit for continuing education pursuant to regulation.

Things to remember:

- You <u>must</u> register for Commission meetings online.
- The registration portal will be posted two weeks prior to the first day of the Commission Hearings.
- We will have a "standby" list for Commission Hearing seating in the event of cancellations.
- You will continue to receive your CE certificate via email (no later than two weeks after the conclusion and adjournment of the hearings).
- Please ensure you have given yourself ample time to meet your renewal period requirements.
 Please see the bullet noted above.
- Please ensure that your contact information is up-to-date with the Division.
- You can upload your certificate(s) to your "My Account" during online renewal. If you choose to renew in person or via mail, you will still need to provide all of your completed education/certificates to the Nevada Real Estate Division at that time.
- ✤ No partial education is accepted at the Division.

Please visit the website <u>www.red.nv.gov</u> and check under Administration > Hearing and Agendas > Real Estate to receive the most-up-to-date information about the hearings. Be advised that <u>no</u> certificates will be distributed at the Commission Hearings. Please make sure that you know when you expire and schedule your courses accordingly.

08/22/2018