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A newsletter from the Nevada Real Estate Division 

2007 Legislative Changes in Effect 

T he legislative session of 2007 has 
ushered in several new laws and 

amendments that licensees need to 
know about and comply with.  Among 
the most significant changes are those 
relating to agency and agency duties, 
and those requiring disclosure of the 
criminal conviction of, or guilty plea to, 
certain felonies or crimes for license 
renewal. 

“Agency” Defined 

SB69, Section 1.3 adds a new section 
to NRS 645 that defines the term 
“Agency” to mean a relationship 
between a principal and an agent that 

                                        Continued on page 3 

Former Attorney for Injured Workers to 
Head Real Estate Division 

arises when there is a brokerage 
agreement to engage an agent to do 
certain acts on behalf of the principal in 
dealings with a third party. 

New Waiver/Authorization Forms 

NRS 645.254 is now amended to allow 
a client to limit the scope of additional 
duties of a licensee by choosing to 
waive the broker’s duty to present all 
offers by signing a waiver on a form 
prescribed by the Division.  The form, 
titled “Waiver Form,” is available on the 
Division’s website as form # 636.  
Concurrent with the option of a client to 
waive the duty of his/her broker to 

D irector Mendy Elliott has named  
Ann McDermott Administrator of 

the Nevada Real Estate Division.  Ms. 
McDermott began her 
appointment on 
October 1, 2007. 

“Ann McDermott has a 
broad background of 
legal and business 
experience and a 
thorough knowledge of 
the real estate 
industry,” said Director 
Elliott.  “This is a broad-
based division that is responsible for 
enforcing eight chapters of Nevada law 
and 11 licensing programs.  Ann’s wide 
range of experience and her legal 

Continued on page 3 

training will serve her well to administer 
all programs and work with the three 
commissions which serve the Division’s 

programs.” 

Ms. McDermott most recently 
served as a deputy Nevada 
attorney for injured workers in 
Las Vegas, where she 
represented injured workers in 
appeals of workers’ 
compensation claims.  She 
previously served as managing 
attorney at the Kimball, Tirey & 
St. John law firm in Las Vegas, 

and as associate in several other law 
offices.  She also has an extensive 
business background, including 
management experience within the 

Ann M. McDermott 
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CE Education Now Required to 
Renew Business Broker Permits 

S ince October 2006, the date of 
the Business Broker permit 

implementation, the Division 
accepted the renewal of a 
Business Broker permit without 
the submission of the required 3 
hours of Business Broker 
continuing education course 
because the CE courses were not 
available.  

As of August 1, 2007, the 
Business Broker 3-hour continuing 
education course is available 
through Kaplan School (south), 
Key Realty School (south), and 
Pioneer School (north).   

A permit expires on the same date 
as the applicant's real estate 
license. To renew the permit, you 
must submit an application to 
renew, a renewal fee of $40 and 
proof of continuing education. 

Ault Steps in as Deputy 
Administrator 

I n July, Christopher Ault, Jr. was appointed by the 
former Administrator to serve as the new Deputy 

Administrator for the Real Estate Division.  He will be 
based in Carson City.   

A Reno resident, Ault held a Nevada real estate license 
for 6 years. He is the former director for Commercial 
Business Development and has over 15 years of 
experience in corporate management, business 
development and commercial and residential lending. 

Ault attended the University of Nevada-Reno and holds a B.A. in speech 
communication.  His accomplishments include Mortgage Broker News 
magazine’s 1999 National Rookie of the Year; Nevada Mortgage 
Bankers Association’s 1999 Rookie of the Year; and First Horizon Home 
Loan Corporation’s National Silver Award. He is a current member of 
Western Industrial Nevada and EDAWN. 

“Christopher Ault is a highly-respected professional with years of 
leadership excellence. I am relying on him to bring some fresh ideas on 
ways the state does business which will benefit the agency and the 
industries we serve,” says Gail Anderson, Deputy Director of the 
Department of Business and Industry. █ 

The renewal of a permit is 
effective on the date on which the 
applicant submits an application to 
renew his license or the applicant 
pays the renewal fees for the 
license and the permit, whichever 
occurs later.   

For a schedule of Business Broker 
permit continuing education 
courses, you must contact the 
school's directly.  Be sure to check 
the Division’s website regularly as 
more schools are approved and 
added to the list. █ 

Real Estate Trivia: 

In April 1930, the Las Vegas Real Estate Board 

consisted of only 8 active members.  At the same 

time, the Reno-Sparks Real Estate Board had 21 

active members. 
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present all offers is form # 637, which fulfills NRS 
645.635(2) and gives permission in writing to 
authorize a licensee to negotiate a sale or lease 
directly with a seller. This form (called “Authorization 
to Negotiate Directly with the Seller”) also must be 
utilized and signed if the client waives the duty.  
Otherwise, a licensee for a buyer does not have the 
permission of the seller’s broker to present offers or 
negotiate with the seller directly.  This amendment 
serves to address the dilemma previously faced by 
licensees about how to deal with a seller who had 
listed a property with a limited service brokerage in a 
way that complied with Nevada law and protected 
the buyer’s licensee from an unintended multiple 
representation. 

Continued Communication Between a 
Licensee and Another Broker’s Client 

SB 69 has extended the ability of a licensee to 
communicate with another broker’s client, with the 
written permission of that broker, after negotiation of 
a purchase agreement has been completed and 
before closing, without violating NRS 645.  Under 
the pre-existing NRS 645.635 provision a licensee 
could negotiate a sale, exchange or lease of 
property with the client of another broker if the other 
broker had granted permission.  The reason for 
allowing continued communication is to facilitate a 
successful closing without creating an unintended 
agency relationship between the licensee and the 
client of another broker.  Failure to obtain the written 
permission of the client’s broker may result in 
disciplinary action by the Commission. 

Disclosure of Felonies and/or Convictions 

Effective July 1, 2007, Assembly Bill 562 has added 
a new section to NRS 645 requiring a licensee, 
property manager or owner-developer to notify the 
Division if he is convicted of, or enters a plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere to, any felony relating to 
his licensed practice or any crime of fraud, deceit, 
misrepresentation or moral turpitude.  This 
disclosure is required to be made within 10 days 
after the conviction or entering a plea and when 
submitting an application to renew the license, 
permit or registration. 

Moral Turpitude Defined 

The term “moral turpitude” as used in AB 562 and in 
relation to real estate licensees presented some 

concerns since it is not defined in the law.  Senator 
Carlton, during a discussion of this bill in the Senate 
Committee on Commerce and Labor, provided the 
following guidance regarding the meaning in general 
of moral turpitude:  

“… a shameful wickedness so extreme a departure 
from the ordinary standards of honest, good, morals, 
justice or ethics … [as] to be shocking to the moral 
sense of the community.  It also has been defined as 
an act of baseness, vileness or depravity in the 
private and social duties which one person owes to 
another or socially in general contrary to the 
accepted and customary rule of right and duty 
between people.” 

Pre-April 2005 Education Requirements 
Removed 

Effective October 1, 2007, NRS 645.575 has been 
updated by removing the pre-April 2005 education 
requirements for 1st and subsequent license 
renewals and for reinstatement of license from 
inactive status.  Current education requirements of 
30 hours post-licensing credits for 1st renewal, 24 
hours of continuing education credits for 2nd and 
subsequent renewals as well as for reinstatement of 
license can be obtained from NAC 645.448. 

Legislative Changes... 
Continued from previous page 

hospitality and mortgage financing industries.  She 
earned her Juris Doctor degree magna cum laude 
from Gonzaga University School of Law and is a 
member of the Nevada Bar. 

The Real Estate Division carries out duties of 
administration and regulatory enforcement for real 
estate licensees, appraisers of real estate, the sale 
of subdivided land, timeshare sales, campground 
membership sales, home inspectors, common-
interest community associations, certified community 
managers, and condominium hotels. 

Ms. McDermott will be based in the Division’s Las 
Vegas office. █ 

Administrator… 
Continued from page 1 

Continued on page 7 



   4                                                                                                                      O                                                                                                                      O                                                                                                                      OPENPENPEN H H HOUSEOUSEOUSE   

 

Disciplinary Actions/Stipulations 

 
Stipulation:  Manack-Rosas agreed to pay an 
administrative fine of $1,575.00 within one year. 
 

* * * 
John McEwen 

License No. 37468—Broker 
 

Action:  McEwen failed to deliver a signed termination 
notice to the Division after one of his agents resigned.  He 
also failed to address allegations of the complaint filed by 
the agent after receiving two separate letters from the 
Division. 

 
Decision:  McEwen’s license was downgraded to 
Broker/Salesperson for a period of not less than 2 years.  
He must pay a fine of $15,000, administrative fees of 
$1,592 and complete the 45-hour Broker Management 
class within six months.  He must appear before the 
Commission before being upgraded to a Broker again. 
 

* * * 
Jimmy Wilson 

License No. 49622—Salesperson 
 

Allegation:  Wilson was cited for multiple violations on 3 
separate cases presented to the Commission.  Some of the 
violations included: inflating the sale price on a purchase 
agreement to include loan proceeds that were being given 
to his company; failing to disclose that he was the sole 
officer of the company receiving the proceeds; accepting 
compensation from both the real estate company and the 
title company and failing to disclose it. 

 
Stipulation: Wilson agreed to pay a fine of $105,000 
within 2 years (on a quarterly basis) and attend the 30-
hour post-licensing program and the 45-hour law class 

ACTIONS/DECISIONS 
Real Estate Commission actions are not published in this newsletter until the 30-day period allowed for filing for Judicial 
Review has passed.  If a stay on discipline is issued by the Court, the matter is not published until final outcome of the 
Review. 
A Respondent’s license is automatically suspended for failure to comply with a Commission Order, and the Division may 
institute debt collection proceedings to recover fines and costs. 
We do not publish names of persons whose license applications are denied. 

ALLEGATIONS/STIPULATIONS 
Stipulations occur when both the Respondent and Division have agreed to conditions reviewed and accepted by both sides.  
A stipulation may or may not be an admission of guilt.  Stipulations are presented to the Commission for review and 
acceptance. 

 
Dwight Day 

License No. 53271—Salesperson 
 

Allegation:  Day failed to confirm close of escrow with the 
buyers.  After close of escrow, he failed to deliver the 
property keys and remove his For Sale sign from the 
property. 

 
Stipulation:  Day agreed to pay a fine of $1,500 within 
one year and attend 6 hours of Contracts and 6 hours of 
Ethics within six months. 
 

* * * 
Michael Christopher Williams 

License No.  49470—Salesperson 
 

Action:  Williams was convicted of robbery by the Eighth 
Judicial District Court while acting as a licensed 
salesperson.  He was sentenced to 60 months in jail with 
eligibility of parole in two years. 

 
Decision:  Williams’s license was revoked. 
 

* * * 
Jolene Manack-Rosas 

Unlicensed 
 

Allegation: Manack-Rosas does not hold a real estate 
license or property manager permit.  She told owners of a 
property that she was a property manager and obtained 
keys from the real estate office to have the property 
inspected and repaired.  She also signed a rental/lease 
agreement that listed her as the authorized property 
manager and provided handwritten documents which 
listed management fees of $115.00 per month. ► 

APRIL 2007 
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   Did you know ……..? 

 ⇒  The Real Estate Commission meets 5 times a 
year to hear disciplinary cases and to discuss 
and take action, where applicable, on a wide 
range of issues that affect real estate 
practitioners and the industry.  The dates and 
locations of the meetings can be found at the 
Division’s website at www.red.state.nv.us.  
Meeting agendas are posted a minimum of 5 days 
before the meeting. 

⇒  Licensees can get a minimum of 3 and as many as 
6 CE credits in Ethics or Broker Management 
designation for attending Commission meetings.  
To obtain the CE credit licensee must be 
physically present at the meeting for at  least 3 
hours. 

Disciplinary Actions/Stipulations 
within six months.  Wilson was also required to provide a 
progress report at the September 2007 Commission 
meeting. 
 

* * * 
Lillian McGill 

License No. 12873—Broker 
 

Allegation: McGill was the broker for a time share sales 
apartment complex who failed to renew her license.  
During the time her license was expired, 15 time share 
salespersons were engaged in real estate activities 
without a broker. 
 
Stipulation: McGill agreed to pay a fine of $4,000 within 
one year. 
 

JULY 2007 

 
James Keller 

License No. 0320—Broker 
 

Allegation:  Keller, a broker, failed to disclose his 
relationship to the buyer’s agent in a real estate 
transaction.  He was also disciplined for failing to properly 
supervise his agent and failing to establish policies and 
procedures that would have found violations contained in 
a flyer distributed by the agent. 

 
Stipulation:  Keller agreed to pay a fine of $6,000 and 
attend the “What Every Licensee Should Know Course,” 6 
hours of Ethics, and 3 hours of Broker Management, all 
within six months. 

 
* * * 

Darrell Plummer 
License No. 15108—Broker 

 
Allegation:  Plummer paid commission to an agent (see 
Snyder) who completed a real estate transaction after her 
license had expired.  

 
Stipulation:  Plummer agreed to pay a fine of $500 
within 6 months. 

 
* * * 

Norma B. Snyder 
License No. 16235—Salesperson 

 
Allegation:  Snyder completed a real estate transaction 
after her license had expired. 

 
Stipulation:  Snyder agreed to pay a fine of $1,000 
within 6 months. 

 
* * * 

John Genzler 
License No. 18561—Broker 

In lieu of disciplinary action, Genzler has voluntarily 
surrendered his Broker’s license and property manager 
permit. 

 
* * * 

Jamie Mackanos 
License No. 62080—Broker 

 
Allegation:  Mackanos entered into an agreement to 
manage a property and collect monthly payments when 
she did not have a property management permit. 
 
Stipulation:  Mackanos’ license was revoked.  She agreed 
to pay a fine of $10,000 and an administrative fee of 
$1,185 within 6 months. 

 
* * * 

Walter Floyd 
License No. 1327—Broker 

 
In lieu of disciplinary action, Floyd has voluntarily 
surrendered his Broker’s license. █ 
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Education Section Publishes 
New Forms 

New Hires 

LINDA CHAVEZ re-
joined the Division as a 
Compliance Investigator 
for Real Estate. 

VANESSA FINONA is 
the new Administrative 
Assistant in the Education 
Section. 

NICHOLAS HALEY has 
been appointed the 
Education & Information 
Officer for the 
Ombudsman’s Office. 

JOHN SARFF has joined 
the Division as an 
Accounting Clerk for the 
Ombudsman’s office. 

CHERYL FLEMING has 
joined the Division as a 
Compliance Investigator 
for Common-Interest 
Communities. 

TRACY TOWNSEND is 
the new Assistant to the 
Administrator. 

T he Education Section has published a new set of forms for education 
providers.  These forms should be used to submit applications for 

pre-licensing, post-licensing, and continuing education courses for 
classroom offerings and distance education. The newly created and/or 
revised forms are shown below and can be found on the Division’s 
website at www.red.state.nv.us. 

526A—RE Continuing Education Application for Classroom Offerings 

526B—RE Continuing Education Application for Distance Education 

527—Time Share 14-Hour Pre-Licensing Course Application 

528—Time Share Continuing Education Application 

560A—RE Sales Pre-Licensing Education Application for Classroom 
Offerings 

560B—RE Sales Pre-Licensing Education Application for Distance 
Education 

560C—RE Broker Management Pre-Licensing Education Application for 
Classroom Offerings 

560D—RE Broker Management Pre-Licensing Education Application for 
Distance Education 

560E—RE Business Broker Permit Pre-Licensing Education Application 
for Classroom Offerings 

560F—RE Business Broker Permit Pre-Licensing Education Application 
for Distance Education 

560G—RE Property Manager Permit Pre-Licensing Education Application 
for Classroom Offerings 

612A—Classroom/Instructor Evaluation Report 

612B—CE Distance Education Classroom/Instructor Evaluation Report 

613—RE Post Licensing Education Application for Classroom Offerings 

635—Instructor Application 

640—Real Estate Post Licensing Education Renewal Application 

641—Real Estate Continuing Education Renewal Application 

* * * Members Needed for Advisory Review Committee * * * 
The NAC is looking for members to serve on the Real Estate Advisory Review Committee (ARC).  
If you are interested and meet the qualifications as specified in NRS 645.090, please download 
and complete the ARC application which can be found on our website at www.red.state.nv.us.  
Click on “Advisory Committee” under the Real Estate Section.  Contact Joanne Gierer, Legal 
Administrative Officer, at (702) 486-4033 ext. 64036 if you have any questions. 
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Division’s Website Delivers Award-Winning 
Performance 

Increased Fines 

Also taking effect from October 1, 2007, the 
maximum amount of fine the Commission may 
impose has gone up from $5,000 to $10,000 per 
violation committed by a licensee, property manager 
or owner-developer, amending NRS 645.630.  This 
amendment does not affect any additional penalties 
per violation the Commission may see fit to impose. 

New Chapter for Condo Hotels 

Assembly Bill 431 has established a new NRS 
chapter 441, to be called the “Condominium Hotel 
Act” (CHA).  The provisions of this Act will govern all 
aspects regarding the creation, alteration, 
termination, management and the protection of 
purchasers of condominium hotels, as well as the 
administration and enforcement of this chapter.  
Chapter 441 is modeled closely after NRS 116 
governing common interest communities, including 
the provisions relating to furnishing the information 
statement in the resale of a condominium hotel unit, 
and the disclosure documents and certificate of 
resale package to a prospective purchaser. 

Chapter 441 has officially changed the name of the 
Commission for Common Interest Communities to 

Legislative Changes... 
Contined from page 3 

T he Nevada Real Estate Division was recently presented with the 
2007 Communications Award from the Association of Real Estate 
License Law Officials (ARELLO). 

A call for entries in the categories of education and communication was 
made by ARELLO’s Education Issues Monitoring Committee to Real 
Estate Divisions across the country.  The communications award is for 
specific communication-delivery systems such as newsletters and 
websites.  The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding 
communication vehicles that contribute to the real estate industry and 
promote protection of the public. 

An entry for the Division’s website (www.red.state.nv.us) was submitted by Teresa Rice, Publications Writer 
for the Real Estate Division.  

In evaluating sites to select the winning entry, the Committee considered several factors, including timeliness, 
user-friendliness and benefits to the target audience. The award was presented on September 16th at the 
ARELLO conference in New York.  Former Real Estate Division Administrator and current District Vice 
President of ARELLO Gail Anderson accepted the award on behalf of the Real Estate Division. █ 

the “Commission for Common Interest Communities 
and Condominium Hotels” (CCICCH), extending 
enforcement authority of the CHA to the CCICCH.  
The administration and regulation of the CHA and 
condominium hotels will be carried out by the 
Ombudsman’s Office of the Real Estate Division. 

What Every Licensee Should Know 

A more detailed and comprehensive look at the 
range of legislation changes affecting real estate 
licensees and the practice of real estate will soon be 
available in the Division’s Law and Legislation 
designated course, entitled “What Every Licensee 
Should Know 2008.”  The CE course calendar at 
www@red.state.nv.us will give the names and 
contact information of the providers and dates when 
the course will be offered. 

The Division’s residential disclosure guide is being 
updated to incorporate the relevant new and 
amended disclosure laws and the revised booklet 
will become available as soon as it is printed and 
posted on the website. █ 
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Real Estate Statistics as of October 17, 2007 
  BROKERS BROKER-SALESPERSON SALESPERSON     

COUNTY ACTIVE INACTIVE ACTIVE INACTIVE ACTIVE INACTIVE ACTIVE TOTAL INACTIVE TOTAL 

Unknown 218 203 252 175 2589 451 3059 829 
Carson City 56 51 49 33 191 78 296 162 
Churchill 18 19 6 8 57 18 81 45 
Clark 1803 775 2194 845 15487 2515 19484 4135 
Douglas 91 31 77 35 385 100 553 166 
Elko 2 10 15 15 73 21 90 46 
Esmeralda 33 0 0 0 3 0 36 0 
Humboldt 4 5 7 2 16 4 27 11 
Lander 2 1 0 0 6 0 8 1 
Lincoln 1 0 1 0 3 1 5 1 
Lyon 32 15 29 15 188 44 249 74 
Mineral 1 0 1 0 5 2 7 2 
Nye 49 23 30 26 212 53 291 102 

Out-of-State 173 35 156 59 389 153 718 247 
Pershing 2 0 1 0 4 0 7 0 
Storey 2 1 3 1 9 5 14 7 
Washoe 446 321 406 240 2324 573 3176 1134 
White Pine 3 1 1 3 10 4 14 8 
TOTAL 2936 1491 3228 1457 21951 4022   
        Active Total =  28115   
        Inactive Total =    6970 


