NRED FAQs on License, Permit and Certificate Renewals

My license, certificate, permit, or registration renewal is due in May 2020. Are there any renewal extensions?

No. If you do not renew on or before your renewal date, your license, certificate, permit or registration will expire.

My license, certificate, permit, or registration renewal is due in May 2020, but I have not completed my educational requirements. Will I be able to renew?

Yes. You will be allowed to renew your license, certificate, permit, or registration on or before the due date. The Division will document the educational requirements that have yet to be submitted and give you a 90-day extension on your educational requirements.

What if my license, certificate, permit, or registration renewal was due in March or April 2020? Do I still have an extension?

Yes. The Division was temporarily closed and unable to process renewals. For this loss of time, the Division is allowing renewals due in March and April to renew in May without a penalty.

Will March and April renewals (due in May) be allowed an extension on their educational requirements?

Yes. The Division will document the educational requirements that have yet to be submitted and give you a 90-day extension on your educational requirements.

My license, certificate, permit, or registration renewal is due in May 2020. Do I have to pay?

Yes. Real estate is deemed an “Essential Business” and the Nevada Real Estate Division is working hard to provide all our services to constituents.

Are the Nevada Real Estate Division (NRED) offices open to the public?

No. Due to the Governor’s Directives regarding social distancing, the protection of Division staff and constituents, NRED is currently closed to the public.

Is the Nevada Real Estate Division (NRED) open for business?

Yes. NRED is still providing many services online and Division staff is available and telecommuting to prevent the spread of COVID-19. NRED transitioned in-person services to mail, online, email and over the phone. NRED is committed to serving our constituents and request your patience and help as we undertake these important precautionary measures.

Can I renew online?

Yes. This is now the preferred method for renewal. Please see your MY ACCOUNT on the Division's website.

What if I need to reset my online password?

Contact the Division by calling (702) 486-4033 and leave a voicemail or send an email to realest@red.nv.gov. Licensing staff will respond and provide assistance.