Nevada Public Records Act (NRS 239) and Compliance Procedure for the Nevada Real Estate Division
The Nevada Real Estate Division is committed to providing access to public records in accordance with Nevada Revised Statute Chapter 239. All public records, the contents of which are not otherwise declared by law to be confidential, shall be open for inspection or to obtain copies.
License History Requests
To receive a license history of a licensee, submit a completed License History Request form to the Real Estate Division Licensing Section with the required fees. Below is the link to the License History Request form.
Request for Records of Complaints
To request a record of complaints for a real estate licensee, property manager, appraiser, business broker, inspector of structure or asset manager; submit a completed Request for Record of Complaints form to the Real Estate Compliance Section. Below is the link to the Request for Record of Complaints form.
To request a record of complaints for a community manager or reserve study specialist; submit a completed Request for Record of Complaints form to the Ombudsman’s Office. Below is the link to the Request for Record of Complaints form.
List of Active Licensees
The Nevada Real Estate Division updates lists of active licensees that are under the authority of the Division on a monthly basis. These lists contain licensees’ names, license numbers, license issuance date, license expiration dates, company names and company address. These lists are provided on a CD in pdf format. The fee for the CD is $5.00 if picked up at the Division or $7.50 if mailed. The fee can be paid by cash (exact change), check or money order made payable to the Nevada Real Estate Division. Please submit a Public Records Request form specifying which licensee list you wish to obtain (example: brokers, brokers-sales, sales, etc.).
The following lists can be emailed at no charge:
- Appraisal Management Companies
- Asset Managers
- Asset Management Companies
- Community Managers
- Energy Auditors
- Inspectors of Structures
Public Records Requests and Requests for Records of Complaints forms must be submitted to the Administration Section Manager.
E-mail Address: firstname.lastname@example.org
Mailing and Physical Address:
Nevada Department of Business and Industry
Real Estate Division
Attention: Teralyn Lewis
3300 W. Sahara Ave., Suite 350
Las Vegas, Nevada 89102
Guidelines for Submitting a Public Records Request
- Note: These guidelines, procedures and request form pertain only to the Real Estate Division and the information for which the Real Estate Division has legal custody and control. If you seek information from another agency, please direct your query to that specific agency’s public information office.
- Concise, written requests are preferred. Handwritten request must be legible.
- E-mail or mail your request directly to the Administration Section Manager who will coordinate the records search and response with appropriate staff.
- Be specific in your request, including dates, license and/or case number of records. Try to define the type of content and narrow the scope as much as possible.
- If necessary, clarification might be necessary for the search for records relevant to your needs.
- Include the requestor’s contact information, preferably with e-mail, mailing address and daytime phone number.
- Pursuant to NRS 239.0107(1)(c) within five (5) business days of receiving a request for public record, the office will:
- Allow the requestor to inspect or obtain a copy of the record, or
- Notify the requestor that the office does not possess the information and provide the name and address of the entity that does, if known, or
- Notify the requestor that the information cannot be available within five (5) business days and provide a date and time after which the record will be available to inspect or to obtain a copy, or
- Notify the requestor that the information is confidential and cite the statute or other legal authority to deny the request.
- Due to records accessibility, staff availability, and legal constraints; the Division may need a few days or weeks to locate and produce some records.
- Records are not always readily accessible. Most records older than six (6) years are located at Nevada State Archives or have been destroyed pursuant to the Division’s Record Retention Schedule.
- Fees will be charged in accordance with the fee schedule.
- Certain data and reports maintained by the Division are available on the Division’s website for public viewing and/or downloading. Please search the Division’s website before submitting a formal records request.