Real Estate Commission

The Real Estate Commission is a five-member body, appointed by the governor, that acts in an advisory capacity to the Division, adopts regulations, and conducts disciplinary hearings.

Qualifications and Limitations 

  • Must be a US citizen. 
  • Must be a resident of Nevada for at least five (5) years.
  • Must have been actively engaged in business as a Nevada real estate broker for at least three (3) years preceding appointment or a Nevada real estate broker/salesman for at least five (5) years preceding appointment.
  • Three (3) members must reside in or have a principal place of business located in Clark County; one (1) member must reside in or have a principal place of business in Washoe County; and one (1) member must reside in or have a principal place of business located in Carson City or Churchill, Douglas, Elko, Esmeralda, Eureka, Humboldt, Lander, Lincoln, Lyon, Mineral, Nye, Pershing, Storey or White Pine County.
  • Commissioners are appointed for a three (3) year term but may not serve more than two consecutive terms.

Ex Parte Communication  

An ex parte communication is a communication made to a commission member concerning a pending licensing, disciplinary, rule making proceeding or education course approval. The communication is made outside of the formal proceeding and is not made to the entire commission. Literally, ex parte means one side; by or for one side. The formal definition is: an oral or written communication not on the public record with no prior notice to all parties. Ex parte communications may violate due process and may force a Commissioner to recuse him/herself from participation.

Service of Process 

Pursuant to NRS 645.050(4) service of process and other communications upon the Commission may be made at the principal office of the Real Estate Division. The following is the proper routing for service of process and other communication upon the Commission:

Administration Section Manager
State of Nevada, Department of Business & Industry
Real Estate Division
3300 W. Sahara Avenue, Suite 350
Las Vegas, Nevada 89102
Phone (702) 486-4036
Fax (702) 486-4275

Commission Members

LEE R. GURR, President 
Elko County
REAPPOINTED: 11/01/2021
TERM EXPIRES: 10/31/2024 
Washoe County
REAPPOINTED 11/01/2022
TERM EXPIRES: 10/31/2025
DONNA A. RUTHE, Secretary
Clark County 
APPOINTED: 04/01/2023
TERM EXPIRES: 03/31/2026
DAVID TINA, Commissioner
Clark County
APPOINTED: 11/01/2021
TERM EXPIRES: 10/31/2024
FORREST BARBEE, Commissioner
Clark County
APPOINTED: 03/01/2024
TERM EXPIRES: 02/28/2027

Meeting Schedule 

Meeting agendas are stacked and the meeting will close upon completion of the agenda.

Licensees can earn continuing education credit by attending Nevada Real Estate Commission meetings.  Licensees must be present for at least three (3) hours of an active commission meeting. Up to six (6) hours of Agency, Ethics, Broker Management, or Law and Legislation credits may be earned through meeting attendance during any licensing period. 

NOTICE:  Meeting agendas are stacked and the meeting will close upon completion of the agenda.  For those attending commission meetings for CE credit, please review the agenda!  Portions of the meeting may be conducted in closed session. Those portions will not be eligible for continuing education credit. 

Commission Meeting schedules are subject to change without notice. We recommend that you call (702) 486-4074 or (702) 486-4036, or check back frequently.

Click here to view the meeting calendar.

Other Commissions 

CIC Commission

Appraisal Commission